Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

God on a Harley, by Joan Brady

Cover ImageFinished 2-25-09, rating 3.5/5 , fiction, pub. 1995

How had I become so unhappy with myself and the way my life had turned out?  Why couldn’t I find solutions to the problems that were holding me back from a joyous life?  I know for a fact that I am at least a fairly intelligent person and I’ve even known stupid people who are a whole lot happier than me.  Why couldn’t I find a way to fill the emptiness in my life?

Chapter 2

Christine Moore was a 37 year old nurse who had just moved back to New Jersey and was fighting the apathy and bitterness she felt about life.  Then she meets Joe, or God if you are old school, and she begins a path to a less complicated, more fulfilled life.  He starts popping up in her life in the flesh and sometimes on his Harley.  Unfortunately, at some point she feels that she is in love with Joe/God.

“It’s simple,” he said.  “I’m getting you ready to live.  I mean really live.  Meaningfully.”

Chapter 3

This is a slim new age fable that may help you see your life in a new light.  At its core it is about learning to love yourself and making changes in your life.  After reading this yesterday all I wanted to do was purge old stuff out of my closets and live with less stuff  (and it is still a work in progress today).  It is a charming and hopeful book and a nice gift for any woman who has ever had her heart stomped on and has lost faith in herself or God.

It’s probably not for everyone and for most it is not going  to change your life, but it may make you look at your choices from a different perspective.  I thought it was a little hokey, but Christine felt real enough to make it a nice read.

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. The title made me laugh. Any book that makes you a little introspective, even for a few days, is a good thing.

    Comment by bermudaonion | February 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

