Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Red Siren, by M.L. Tyndall

The Red SirenFinished 2-15-09, rating 3/5, inspirational fiction, pub. 2008

Charles Towne Belles. Book 1

Dajon’s exuberance sank to the floor.  “Your daughters?”  his voice squeaked.

“Why yes.  There is no better man than you to be their guardian in my absence.  With the Spanish and Indian attacks of late, not to mention the savage nature of some of the settlers, they need a naval officer to protect them.”

No promotion?  Dajon’s breath halted in his throat.  He wiped the sweat from his brow.  A guardian?  Of women?  Every encounter he’d ever had with females had ended in disaster.

Chapter 2

It is 1718 and the Westcott sisters – Faith, Hope, and Grace- are in the Carolinas with their father, Rear Admiral of the British Royal Army.  Having already married off their oldest sister to an abusive brute, Faith is afraid of the same fate befalling her, so she has secretly been a pirate captain for over five years.  She hopes to amass a fortune so great that neither she nor her sisters will be forced into marriage.

When the Admiral must go back to Europe he leaves Captain Dajon White in charge of his daughters.  Dajon’s duty in the Navy is to protect the Carolina shore from pirates and this causes much concern for Faith, who finds herself drawn to Dajon.  Dajon has been duped by the lady pirate before and he suspects Faith, but his growing feelings for her cloud his judgement.

I did enjoy this historical inspirational romance.  It had adventure and danger and a wonderful message of God’s forgiveness and redemption.  Faith had lost her belief in God when her mother died, and it wasn’t until the God-fearing Dajon entered her life that she began to reconnect with God.  Dajon was a good man and it was nice to see chivalry and honor in a hero.

While I liked it, I did not love it.  I found all three sisters a little selfish and too modern for the times.  And I found it difficult to envision Faith as the captain of a pirate ship.  The way in which men were betrayed in this book made me question how this pretty girl commanded a ship full of obedient men.

If you like historical romances or inspirational fiction I think you’ll enjoy it.

I received this from LibraryThing to review.

February 18, 2009 - Posted by | 3 Star Books | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. The book sounds good, but the cover turns me off – I think it’s the expression on her face.

    I agree with you 100%. That is what I pictured when I read the book. Maybe that is why I didn’t really connect with her?

    Comment by bermudaonion | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. I agree, she makes it look like a romance novel (the trashy kind). Before I read your review, I almost didn’t because I thought that’s what it was!

    Sadly, the cover does cheapen it.

    Comment by Tonya | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. I agree that the description sounds like an enjoyable novel. It is really hard, especially if you aren’t the one creating the cover, to have a cover that is exactly what you want. I just published an inspirational novel as well. The cover looks great, but it also doesn’t portray the essence of the novel as accurately as a cover could. But when someone else is putting it together, you can’t continue having them offer cover after cover if you ever want to get published.
    Philip A Kledzik
    “An Issue of the Heart”
    authorphilipkledzik.books.officelive.com

    Thanks for providing the author’s perspetive, Philip. I know we shouldn’t judge a books by its cover, but a great cover can make us pick up a book. Thanks for reminding us that the cover is not always in the author’s control.
    Good luck with your books :)

    Comment by Philip A. Kledzik | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. [...] Today’s giveaway is a trade paperback read twice- gently.  Published in 2008, 318 pages.  Here’s my reiew. [...]

    Pingback by Book Giveaway – The Red Siren by M>L> Tyndall « Stacy's Books | October 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

