Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Teaser Tuesday – Joy School

teasertuesdays3TEASER TUESDAYS asks you to:

  • Grab your current read.
    Let the book fall open to a random page.
    Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
    You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
    Please avoid spoilers!

“They’re fourteen, and they’re twins, Greg and Marsha.  I believe they are relatives of the devil.”

-Joy School by Elizabeth Berg, page 21

I’m loving this book so far!  Grab your book and leavea comment :)

February 17, 2009 - Posted by | teaser tuesday | , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. Well, that could be said of all fourteen-year-olds, right? Nice teasers.

    I’m pretty sure it could!

    Comment by JLS Hall | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. I don’t know what is today, but everyone’s teasers — including yours — are making me laugh. That’s a good thing, right?

    There are lots of good ones today.

    Comment by Beth F | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. I hope that’s ironic! Nice teaser.

    Greg and Marsha are not nice kids :)

    Comment by fleurfisher | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ha ha! The author must be a “Brady Bunch” fan, though I believe that Greg and Marsha were insanely good…

    I know! She had me hooked at Greg and Marsha and then she made me laugh out loud :)

    Comment by Wanda | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. And what’s this book all about? Good teaser!
    Here is mine:
    http://jennylovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/02/teaser-tuesday_17.html

    Comment by Jennygirl | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. So it is a comedy then??

    Actually, no. I would call it a heartfelt coming of age story. I think that’s why that line made me laugh. It was unexpected.

    Comment by BooksPlease | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  7. I just love Elizabeth Berg!

    Me too. I’ve only read a handful, but I’m always sucked right in.

    Comment by bookfan | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  8. lol…love your teaser

    Comment by Gail | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  9. Now I am intrigued as well! I’ve only read one Elizabeth Berg which was so-so, but this really sounds intriguing ;)

    Here’s mine, but you already saw that :)

    http://louspages.blogspot.com/2009/02/teaser-tuesdays_17.html

    I really enjoy Elizabeth Berg. I’ve had this on my shelf for awhile and now I’m mad that it took me so long to read it :)

    Comment by Louise | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  10. that is a great teaser. i am glad i am not the only one that thought of The Brady Bunch

    It’s always Marsha, Marsha, Marsha!

    Comment by Erika Lynn | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  11. Very funny! Teenagers!!!lol

    This book bringing back the awkwardness of my teen years. Scary!

    Comment by MOG | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  12. Haha, I agree! But I don’t think they’re relatives – they just have to be the devil! Fun teaser! Even the title sounds impossible – what joy is school? j/k ;)

    cecilia

    I loved school! But I would never go back :)

    Comment by the epic rat | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  13. Looks interesting. The names though do remind me of the brady bunch. :) Thanks for visiting my blog

    Comment by Robin | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  14. That’s hilarious. A real kicker of a final sentence, really perfect.

    Here’s my own TT.

    Comment by Phyl/Bookishgal | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  15. Another Berg fan I see. I haven’t gotten to her yet but it looks like I will enjoy her immensely – thanks for the super funny Teaser.

    I’ve enjoyed those of hers I’ve read. Review will be up tomorrow.

    Comment by Molly | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  16. LOL – I immediately thought of the Brady Bunch! Thanks for the teaser!

    Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

    Comment by Wendi B. ~ Wendi's Book Corner | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  17. Good teaser – I have close relatives that I think may be a relative of the devil too :)

    That’s funny! :)

    Comment by sally906 | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  18. HAHAHAHAHA! I think I might have been related to them when I was 14! Thank goodness I outgrew it.

    Comment by Tonya | February 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

