Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Devil in a Blue Dress, by Walter Mosley

Cover Image

Finished audio 8-18-08, rating 3.5/5, mystery, pub. 1990

Easy Rawlings lives in 1948 Los Angeles and is a black man who is proud of owning his home and the little bit of land that surrounds it.  He has just lost his job at the plant and he is in his friend’s bar nursing the sting of being fired.  Mr. Albright walks in and is hoping to hire Easy to find a white girl, Daphne, who frequents black jazz clubs.  As soon as he takes the job Easy is thrust into the middle of a web  of lies, threats, and lust. 

I listened to this on cd and the reader, GC Simms, was wonderful.  His rich voice drew me in immediately and I’m pretty sure that he could have been reading anything and I’d have been entertained.  This book addresses the racial reality of the 1948, yet it feels completely current.  I’d recommend it.  I’ve got the movie waiting on my dvr, I’ll let you know what I think later.

August 19, 2008 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’ve tried listening to books in the car, but I guess I’m distracted too easily or something, because I couldn’t follow the plot. But, Dick Estell, the radio reader, has lured me in with a couple of his readings.

    Not all books are good. If the writing style is challenging to me I find myself concentrating too much on the book and not enough on my driving! I always check out three from the library because there is always at least one that I start and don’t like. It’s a great option for long trips with a lot of open highway.

    Comment by bermudaonion | August 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

