Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Savage Pen of Philip Roth

A local university, Case Western Reserve, offers continuing ed classes each semester.  Since they are taught in various suburbs I can usually find one of these classes within a 10 minute drive.  In the past I’ve taken classes on the First Ladies, Greatest Trials of the 20th Century (both of which I loved), and one on English Cottage literature.  This time I’ve decided to try the class on Philip Roth.  I’ve not read any of his books, but am looking forward to the three books and, of course, the class discussion.  This is the class description.

The Savage Pen of Philip Roth
Philip Roth is a savagely astute and witty writer of our times. The three novels we will explore are the Pulitzer prize winning “American Pastoral” dealing with the pre-Vietnam era, “I Married a Communist”, the McCarthy era, and “The Human Stain”, Roth’s final offering of this trilogy spotlighting his astute analysis of human psyche and his inventive linking that is terrifyingly funny and alarmingly heartrending. Books: American Pastoral, I Married a Communist, The Human Stain, P. Roth

If anyone on the east side of Cleveland is interested, the class is in Bainbridge on Wednesdays from 10-11:30am starting September 10.  The cost is $50.  Let me know if you want to sign up and I’ll get you the info.

Has anyone read any of these novels and what did you think?

August 11, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers