Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Ohio Primaries

This will be my first and only non-book blog, but so many of you have asked me about being a poll worker that I thought I’d share my experience today working at the Ohio primaries in the Cleveland area. 

This was my second time being a poll worker, but our first time using paper ballots.  My alarm went off at 4:30 am and I was at my polling station at 5:25 am.  Those of you who know me might be chuckling at this improbable feat.  By 6:30 when the polls opened we had a line of people waiting to vote.  The Democrats outvoted the Republications at my precinct by a ratio of 5 to 1.  I voted and I had a favorite, but it was so great to see so many first time voters and people voting for a candidate they never thought they’d see (be it a woman or an African-American).  It was heartwarming really and I was glad to be a part of it. 

Things were steady and smooth until about 7 pm when the lights went out.  People were using their cell phones for light to complete their ballots.  Everyone was so happy to be voting that there was good humor all around.

Now at 7:30 pm when the polls closed and we started adding up signatures and ballots we were all tired.  We all had a one hour break in the middle of the day, but were were starting our 13th hour of work.  It took us another 2 1/2 hours to reconcile our numbers, so it was 10 pm when we all went out to our cars to get the ice off our cars and go home. 

I think that working at the polls is something everyone should do once.  You will get to see how the democratic process really works and you get to make a little money too.  I will do this again because I can and and so should you  if you are able.

I’ve been home for an hour and see that they have called Ohio for Hillary.  I know this may be short on details (my mind is a little fuzzy right now :)  If you have any questions just leave a comment and I’ll answer it here.

Thanks Marilyn for taking care of Max while I was gone today :)

March 4, 2008 Posted by | Election | , | 4 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers