Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Best Bookstores

CNN Travel did a story on the country’s best bookstores.  I’ve only been to one.  The Strand in NYC is one of my favorites and every time we are in the city I make sure to carve out a few hours to lose myself in the store.  It’s worth a look if you are in New York.

Check out their other favorites.

http://www.cnn.com/2008/TRAVEL/getaways/01/17/destination.bookstores.ap/index.html

January 18, 2008 Posted by | lists | , | Leave a comment

Mad River Road, by Joy Fielding

Cover ImageFinished audio 1-17-08, rating 2.5/5, fiction. pub. 2006

“Brad” was released from prison on a technicality and wasted no time in planning revenge against those who wronged him.  His first step was finding a woman with a car to warm his bed.  Enter Jamie, who had just found out her boyfriend was married, and you have a scary combination of recklessness and danger.  They begin their trek from Florida to Ohio to find his ex-wife and his son. 

The book had potential, but never really pulled me in.  There was only one sympathetic character of the bunch.  And I kept waiting for something to happen, but had to wait until the last part of the book.

A good reader can make a good book better or a bad one worse.  The reader used different voices for the many characters, but a few of the characters sounded so silly.  So, I’ll allow for the possibility that it may have been better if I’d read it, but I still wouldn’t recommend this book.

January 18, 2008 Posted by | 2 1/2 Stars or Less | , , , | Leave a comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers