Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Tourist Season, by Carl Hiaasen

Cover ImageFinished on 1-13-08, rating 4/5, fiction, pub. 1986

This comedy was published in 1987, but it is based on a modern day premise of over-development.  Popular Miami journalist Skip Wiley has formed his own band of terrorists to take back South Florida from the rich developers and Yankee tourists.  He has an elderly Native American, an ex-pro football player, and a Cuban revolutionary with faulty bomb making skills to help him fight his cause.  There is no one safe from their special brand of terror.  

Brian Keyes is a journalist turned private detective who has been asked to find Skip before he kills anyone else.  Brian has a few well placed allies and is able to locate Skip, if not stop him.  Skip and his band of  misfits leads Brian and the rest of Miami on a twisted ride toward chaos. 

 This all sounds so very serious, but told with Hiaasen’s light touch and slick humor it turns into a page turning caper that even a high body count cannot stall.   I thoroughly enjoyed it, although I was a little surprised at the relationship between 32 year-old Keyes and a 19 year old beauty queen.  I guess the unexpected is what keeps me reading :)

In 1997 at a Barnes & Noble manager’s conference Hiaasen came to speak and sign books for us.  I still have the personalized signed copy of Lucky You on my shelf.  I think I’ll have to finally read it!

January 14, 2008 - Posted by | 4 Star Books | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Terrific review. I think I’ll start reading it tonight. Thanks for your help, you’re the best. I’ve been a long-time admirer of your reviews at bookideas.com. Keep the reviews coming.

    Comment by Blog Admirer | January 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. Your review has caught my interest. I plan to read the book. I truly love a good mystery. I find your reviews fun and easy to relate to. I’ll be watching for more!

    Comment by Janet | January 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. I loved Tourist Season and have gone on to read all Hiassen’s books. He has a gret sense of humor.

    Comment by Sue | January 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

