Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Perfect Bride by Brenda Joyce

Cover ImageFinished on 1-1-08, rating 3/5, romance, pub. 2007

 This is the latest in the The Dewarenne Dynasty and it is my least favorite so far.  This historical romance series if full of sexy, passionate brothers who all find the woman of their dreams.  This book was about Rex, the dark, brooding, crippled brother who met his match in Blanche, the prim and proper ice queen.  Both of these characters appeared in earlier books and I was looking forward to a match.  There was so much simmering beneath the surface with these two and I couldn’t wait for the explosion.

 Maybe there was too much beneath the surface.  I’m a sucker the mysterious hero, but Blanche was also mysterious and difficult to relate to.  I found the story of her ‘madness’ and retreat to the time of her mother’s death a bit boring and found myself skimming a page a time, which I never do.

I love Brenda Joyce.  Her Deadly series is my favorite.  I would recommend this series, but to appreciate it you must start at the beginning.

January 7, 2008 Posted by | 3 Star Books | , , , | Leave a comment

2007 Books

It is my goal every year to read a book a week.  Last year I completed only 40, so I’m hoping this blog will keep me honest. 

 My favorite books last year…

the 5 Prey novels by John Sandford (Broken, Chosen, Mortal, Naked, Hidden)

Natural Born Lover by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hollows by JK Rowling

Sophie Metropolis by Tori Carrington

January 7, 2008 Posted by | lists | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers