Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

P is for Philadelphia Planes Pull Plummer Phillps Postcards

I’ve had a love affair with postcrossing the last few years (even receiving a postcard from Ukraine this week and going on to exchange a few emails about the state of affairs there, more on that when we come to U).  I’ve received 175 postcards from around the world and two of them fit this month’s challenge very well.

IMG_6115The first was sent to me by an ER doctor in Israel and the second was sent from the Netherlands.  I love sending and receiving cards and think it is a hobby that Gage could participate in soon.

Blogging from A to Z

authorSusan Elizabeth Phillips

I first read Dream a Little Dream in 1998 and quickly went on to read the rest of her backlist and then eagerly await her new releases.  Do yourself a favor and try one of her quick-witted and sassy romances.

moviea tie…The Philadelphia Story, 1940  AND Planes, Trains, and Automobiles, 1987

I’ve looked at this choice a few times over the last week and I’ve decided that I can only take the easy way out.  I love both of these movies.

bookPull of the Moon by Elizabeth Berg

The first Berg book I read and so far it’s my favorite.  I recommend this book highly to women who want to see glimpses of themselves in a flawed but, oh-so-recognizable, heroine.

actorChristopher Plummer

He will always be Captain Von Trapp to me (The Sound of Music), but he’s had a lot of great movies in the past 10 years or so.

 

April 18, 2014 - Posted by | Blogging from A-Z

9 Comments »

  1. Love Planes, Trains, and Automobiles. One of the all-time great comedies.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | April 18, 2014 | Reply

  2. I haven’t seen those movies or read that book. I can tell you’re having a lot of fun with Postcrossing!

    Comment by BermudaOnion | April 18, 2014 | Reply

  3. Wow, beautiful postcards! I also love a similarly-titled P movie, Philadelphia, with Tom Hanks.

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | April 18, 2014 | Reply

  4. Your Postcrossing is so cool. I enjoy Susan Elizabeth Phillips books. Happy Easter to you all!

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) | April 18, 2014 | Reply

  5. I also love postcards. I have a few decorating my personal space from places such as Alexandria~ Egypt, Oslo~ Norway, and New York City ~ USA. Here’s a funny one for you from near where I grew up:

    Stopping by from the #atozchallenge !
    @JLenniDorner

    Comment by J Lenni Dorner (@JLenniDorner) | April 19, 2014 | Reply

  6. (ps- The hyperlink to your Pinterest profile- on the right side of your blog under the A to Z image and above the Goodreads list- isn’t working.)

    Comment by J Lenni Dorner (@JLenniDorner) | April 19, 2014 | Reply

  7. I used to be big into sending cards and now I can hardly remember to send out thank you’s. I’ve gotten so bad. :-( Christopher Plummer will always be Captain Von Trapp to be too.

    Comment by Literary Feline | April 21, 2014 | Reply

  8. I love reading about your postcard adventures. I must read a Susan Elizabeth Phillips sometime and I’m adding Pull of the Moon to my wishlist. I’ve only read the one Elizabeth Berg, Home Safe I think it was, ok but I wasn’t bowled over.

    Comment by Teddyree | April 23, 2014 | Reply

  9. Postcrossing is such a great idea. I’m glad you are still enjoying it! I will make sure to send out some fun postcards from Japan while I’m there :)

    I really enjoyed Plummer’s role in The Beginners with Ewan McGreggor. They both did fantastic.

    Comment by Heather | April 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

