Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

N is for Natives No Newman

Gage is still fighting the stomach bug :(

Blogging from A to Z

actorPaul Newman

Old Blue Eyes brought class to every movie he was in and by all appearances proved to be a class act off the screen as well.  We need more of that these days!  Loved him most in The Sting, Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid, and Road to Perdition.

bookNative Son by Richard Wright

This is one of those classics that no matter how I describe it, I am not going to do it justice and will be hard-pressed to convince you to read it unless you are already inclined.  Here’s the synopsis from Goodreads

Right from the start, Bigger Thomas had been headed for jail. It could have been for assault or petty larceny; by chance, it was for murder and rape. Native Son tells the story of this young black man caught in a downward spiral after he kills a young white woman in a brief moment of panic. Set in Chicago in the 1930s, Wright’s powerful novel is an unsparing reflection on the poverty and feelings of hopelessness experienced by people in inner cities across the country and of what it means to be black in America.

Unflinching and brutally honest this is not one to miss.  I listened to the audio in 2001 and would like to tackle the print someday.

movieNo Way Out, 1987

This movie had everything a great thriller should have with the addition of limousine sex!   It’s fast, and twisty, and made me so nervous to find out if Kevin Costner would escape.  Loved the Pentagon setting and the great acting.

authorCarla Neggers

This romantic suspense author was a surprise to me when I ran into her book signing at a local bookstore in 2008.  I’ve gone on to read a handful of  her 60+ novels and enjoyed them all.    I also did a short interview with her in 2009.

 

 

April 16, 2014 - Posted by | Blogging from A-Z

7 Comments »

  1. And 27 years later, he’s still putting out good movies. Just saw Draft Day. It was outstanding.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | April 16, 2014 | Reply

  2. It’s been so long since I’ve seen No Way Out. It was a fun movie. Carla Neggers is an author I really must try someday.

    I recently bought a copy of Native Son after reading a book blog review of the book. I hope I can get to it sooner than later. It sounds like a must read.

    Comment by Literary Feline | April 16, 2014 | Reply

  3. I haven’t heard of Native Son before, I’ll have to look into it :)

    Finley Jayne

    http://finleyjaynesbookshelves.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Finley Jayne | April 17, 2014 | Reply

  4. I saw The Hustler a few years back. It’s awesome.

    Comment by tonylaplume | April 18, 2014 | Reply

  5. Awww. I hope Gage feels better. I really need to read Native Son soon.

    Comment by Vasilly | April 18, 2014 | Reply

  6. Kevin Costner young. He was so fantastic back then….Silverado? He was amazing in that!

    Comment by Heather | April 23, 2014 | Reply

  7. I hope gage gets feeling better. I liked the Kevin Costner movie too.

    Comment by kelley | April 24, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

