Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

L is for Lord Lion Lindbergh on Lolly Lane

Gift from the SeaGift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Rating 5/5, memoir?, 142 pages, pub. 1955

I cannot possibly do this book of poetic beauty justice.  The views of Lindbergh can be considered old-fashioned and antiquated, and they are, but that should not diminish the truth behind her words.  As women, we all still struggle with finding time alone, relationships, midlife, aging.  This slim memoir is to be savored one small chapter at a time and by those who can appreciate that it was written in a different, but no less significant period.  Lindbergh lived a privileged (and in some ways tragic) life, but her words can be appreciated by every woman.  I set aside time to fully appreciate each chapter with no outside noise or time constraints (a difficult task), and felt that I had visited and been restored by the sea.

From my personal library and I loved it.

Blogging from A to Z

 

movieThe Lord of the Rings trilogy, 2001, 2002, 2003

This trilogy, based on the fantasy books by JRR Tolkien, is based in Middle Earth during a dangerous time.  The dark lord Sauron wants to rule over Middle Earth and he must find the One Ring that can make that possible.  The wizard Gandalf, four hobbits, two men, an elf, and a dwarf form a fellowship to destroy the ring, but there are many evil forces at work and they don’t all make it to the end.

Loved every minute of this series, in no small part due to this man

(swoon)

actorDiane Lane

I fell in love with her when I saw  A Walk on the Moon (who also happens to feature that swoon-worthy man above), then I saw  Under the Tuscan Sun and it cemented her place as one of my favorite actresses.

bookThe Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis

Who didn’t want to find a secret door in their house to step through for adventure after reading this?  One of children’s books that I think has aged well.

authorLolly Winston

Only two books and I loved them both.  Good Grief and Happiness Sold Separately.  She hasn’t written a book in ages, but I’ll be first in line when she does!

 

 

 

April 14, 2014 - Posted by | 5 Star Books, Blogging from A-Z | ,

16 Comments »

  1. I read the Lion series as an adult. I loved it. And I totally agree about Lolly Winston. She lives (or at least did) in my area. I don’t know what the heck she’s been doing since her 2nd one came out. But they were both really good. I came across another author like Lolly a few years ago. Her name is Deborah Wolf, and she wrote With You and Without You. If you like Lolly, you’ll like this book.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • Okay, Lloyd, I’m off to find Deborah Wolf! Thanks for the tip :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 15, 2014 | Reply

  2. Just a few days ago I thought about Lolly Winston. I hope she writes another book.

    Comment by Beth Hoffman | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • You should use your author connection and find out what’s up!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 15, 2014 | Reply

  3. I love the Lord of the Rings movies. I know the movie people took liberties with the book, but I don’t care. The movies were so well made. I love the books and I love the movies. :-)

    My grandmother was so protective of her set of Narnia books–she really didn’t want to loan them to me when I was a kid, but I finally talked her into it. I devoured those books and still think fondly of the world Lewis created. Such good books.

    Gift from the Sea sounds like a must read book. I am glad it spoke to you, Stacy.

    Comment by Literary Feline | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • Isn’t it nice that you will always associate Narnia with your grandmother? Those are the sorts of book/reading memoires I want to create for Gage.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 15, 2014 | Reply

  4. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is one of my favorites too.

    Comment by Carol | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • I never finished the whole series! One of these days I need to start at the beginning and finish them.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 15, 2014 | Reply

  5. I love the Lord of the Rings trilogy too. Such a classic!

    Comment by Mina B. | April 14, 2014 | Reply

  6. I liked Lane’s Linda Greenlaw in The Perfect Storm.

    Comment by Tony Laplume | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • Gah! I have to correct myself again! She wasn’t Greenlaw (the Maine boat captain, which is why I remember that name, because I’m from Maine myself) but another character. The selection still stands!

      Comment by Tony Laplume | April 14, 2014 | Reply

      • I liked her in The Perfect Storm too. She seems likes such a cool, yet accessible woman.

        Comment by stacybuckeye | April 15, 2014

  7. LOTR! Viggo! Yum! He was so good :)

    Gift From the Sea. You make it sound wonderful. I’ll have to check it out.

    The first few Chronicles of Narnia set me on my path of fantasy love!

    Comment by Heather | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • Viggo. It doesn’t hurt that he has a name that everyone recognizes :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 15, 2014 | Reply

  8. Adding Gift from the Sea and Lolly Winston’s books to my groaning TBR pile, they sound too good to miss out on. I loved Under the Tuscan Sun too :)

    Comment by Teddyree | April 16, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

