Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

K is for Koonz Kid Kills Keaton Knight

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by West Metro Mommy Reads.

Looks like my kid is ready for summer!

gage in sunglasses


Blogging from A to Z

bookA Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux

I remember reading this soon after it was first  published in 1989 and falling in love with the historical time travel romance.  The time travel aspect seems so passe these days, but 20+ years ago I was hooked.  I went on to read and enjoy more of Deveraux’s historicals but this probably still my favorite.  A 16th century knight meets a modern day young woman and sparks fly.  I’ve read it a few times over the years and have loved it every time.

authorDean Koontz

I have always preferred Koontz to Stephen King, although King has impressed me over the last several years.  Koontz, to his credit, never needs an editor :)  He wrote one of my favorite trilogy-ish books ever, the Moonlight Bay books.  He hasn’t had the splashy career of King, maybe because of King’s great success with the movies of his books, but I think he is a more skilled and solid writer.

movieKill Bill, Volumes 1&2 (2003,2004)

By far my favorite Quentin Tarantino movie(s).  Maybe it’s because all the women kick butt: Uma Thurman, Lucy Liu, Darryl Hannah, Vivica Fox.  This was out of my comfort zone a bit but I really liked it.  Do you have  favorite Tarantino movie?  I’ve seen a few but haven’t really loved any of them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3sbKt3ptUJo

actorDiane Keaton

As I looked over Diane’s list of movies, I realize that I like her more than I do the movies she’s in.  I like watching her nervous energy onscreen.  She’s been in some classics (Godfather, Annie Hall) but I prefer some of her other, more standard fare.  I loved Baby Boom, Father of the Bride, Something’s Gotta Give. As I look at that list I see that they are roles of her as a mother in different phases of her life.  I’ve seen them all more than once and loved them every time.  What about you? Do you have a favorite Diane movie?

 

 

April 12, 2014 - Posted by | Blogging from A-Z, Photos

19 Comments »

  1. Yes, summer days do beckon us all, don’t they? Great shot! Thanks for sharing…and here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

    Comment by laurelrainsnow | April 12, 2014 | Reply

    • Oh, and I caught a glimpse of your favorites above, and Diane Keaton is one of mine, too…loved Baby Boom! And the other two, also. I have those movies on DVD…maybe I should curl up with one of them today!

      Comment by laurelrainsnow | April 12, 2014 | Reply

      • Diane is so easy to watch :)

        Comment by stacybuckeye | April 13, 2014

  2. That pic is soooooo cute!

    Comment by Beth Hoffman | April 12, 2014 | Reply

  3. I’m ready for summer too! Your son is such a cutie.

    Comment by Sandra Nachlinger | April 12, 2014 | Reply

    • Who cares about spring? Bring on summer?

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 13, 2014 | Reply

  4. Very cool photo!

    Comment by Pat @ Posting For Now | April 12, 2014 | Reply

  5. Your son is certainly rocking his sun glasses.

    Comment by Louise | April 12, 2014 | Reply

  6. Oh my gosh, I love that picture of Gage! He is just adorable!

    Comment by BermudaOnion | April 12, 2014 | Reply

  7. We are ready for summer over here too! Winter was entirely too long! Gage is rocking those shades!!

    I used to read Koontz and King when I was a teenager. I gobbled up everything from both of them, for whatever reason I haven’t read anything by either for a very long time. I keep saying I need to get back to Dean Koontz. One of these days I will.

    Comment by Tara | April 13, 2014 | Reply

  8. Gage just gets cuter and cuter every day!!

    Comment by lakesidemusing | April 13, 2014 | Reply

  9. Favorite Keaton is Annie Hall. Which I need to see again…

    Comment by Tony Laplume | April 13, 2014 | Reply

  10. Such a great photo! LOL

    It’s been years and years since I last read a Jude Deveraux novel. I used to love her books. I haven’t read too much by Dean Koontz, but his books always appeal to me a little more than King’s generally do.

    Kill Bill was such a fun movie. Violent, yes. But fun. :-)

    Comment by Literary Feline | April 14, 2014 | Reply

  11. Great photo!

    I hated Kill Bill!

    Comment by Carol | April 14, 2014 | Reply

    • LOL! The K movies were slim pickings! I had to consult the Maltin Movie Guide and there weren’t even many to choose from. This would not have even occurred to me as a favorite otherwise.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 14, 2014 | Reply

  12. Awww, Gage is ready for summer! Adorable!

    I’ve only read a couple of Koontz but I hear he is the go-to guy for thriller suspense :)

    I haven’t seen Kill Bills yet but I really liked Django. But I”m not a big Tarantino fan. Pulp Fiction was only so-so for me.

    Comment by Heather | April 14, 2014 | Reply

  13. Gage looks adorable!!!

    Comment by Trish | April 16, 2014 | Reply

  14. How grown up is Gage getting … and such a cutie pie!! Totally agree with you on Koontz, one of my favourites of his is False Memory … have you read it?

    Comment by Teddyree | April 16, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

