Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

I is for It’s Ian Into Isabel

Blogging from A to Z

movieIt Happened One Night, 1934

It Happened One Night (1934) PosterClark Gable and Claudette Colbert were flawless in this slapstick romantic comedy.  She, a spoiled heiress, and he, a reporter on the story, match wits and sparks fly.  It won 5 Oscars (Best Picture, Best Actress, Best Actor, Best Director, Best Writing) and is well worth checking out.  One of my all time faves.

bookInto the Wilderness by Sara Donati

This is a must read for fans of Diana Gabaldon, or for those who love epic tales of adventure and romance. Elizabeth Cameron sails to New York in the late 1700’s to join her father; judge of a small mountain village called Paradise. It chronicles her journey from genteel England, to the rough laws and harsh prejudice of the New World.  Paradise is full of unique characters,  rife with hostility toward the Mohawk living on Lake in the Clouds. Elizabeth comes to be a teacher, but her father has other plans for her. To secure his own wealth, Elizabeth’s father intends for her to marry Richard Todd, the wealthiest man in Paradise. Instead, Elizabeth falls in love with Nathaniel from Lake in the Clouds.

actorIan McKellen

His recurring roles of Magneto in the X-Men films and Gandalf in the Lord of the Rings  and Hobbit trilogies have cemented him as the go-to guy for complex characters.  He is fun to watch, even if he’s being bad.  Do you have a favorite of his outside of these roles?  I admit I’m not as familiar with his other movies as I should be.

authorIsabel Allende

I read her first book, The House of Spirits,  and loved it.  This 1982 novel, with strong women and magical realism, put this Chilean on the map.  I’ve only read one of her other novels, Daughter of Fortune, and loved it too.  I want to read more.  Do you have a favorite Allende book?

April 10, 2014 - Posted by | Blogging from A-Z | ,

13 Comments »

  1. The only one of those I even recognize is Isabel Allende and I’ve never read her work.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | April 10, 2014 | Reply

    • You’d probably like Daughter of Fortune.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  2. I loved Ian Mckellen in The Hobbit. Nice to connect and follow. http://aimingforapublishingdeal.blogspot.co.uk

    Comment by Charlotte Comley | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  3. Easily The Da Vinci Code. Defining role as far as I’m concerned.

    Comment by Tony Laplume | April 10, 2014 | Reply

    • You are so right, Tony!! I can’t believe I forgot to include that one. I loved him in that and probably was the first movie that really put him on the radar for me. Could have been X-Men since I;m not sure of the timing of those two films, but definitely a role that got my attention.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  4. You are so right about the Into The Wilderness series. Convincing fans of Outlander to try this series has been difficult, but EVERY one of those that took my advice were glad they did.

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) | April 10, 2014 | Reply

    • I admit that I haven’t read the series. I have Lake in the Clouds but haven’t read it yet. Sometimes books are so good that I don’t want them to be a series, if that makes sense. They are perfect and complete.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 11, 2014 | Reply

  5. Squeee love the Wilderness series, I don’t know why it’s not more widely read. I haven’t read anything by Allende but I think I have Island Beneath the Sea somewhere lol

    Comment by Teddyree | April 10, 2014 | Reply

    • I agree, I don’t know why more people haven’t read Into the Wilderness. It’s such a satisfyingly romantic book.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 11, 2014 | Reply

  6. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser
    compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Firefox, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some
    overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, fantastic blog!

    Comment by corporate photographers Johannesburg | April 11, 2014 | Reply

  7. I adore Ian McKellen. :-) I want to give Isabel Allende another try, since the book I read by her was such a disappointment.

    Comment by Literary Feline | April 14, 2014 | Reply

  8. I need to watch some classics, it seems! I love Clark Gable. So swoon worthy in Gone With the Wind!

    He doesn’t have a huge part, but Ian McKellan still does a great job as the bad guy in The Scarlet Pimpernel with Jane Seymore.

    I read Allende’s House of Spirits a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. She’s an amazing writer.

    Comment by Heather | April 14, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

