Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

H is for Harry Hoffman’s Hunger Hepburn

Blogging from A to Z

He Did This Just For YouHe Did This Just For You. Finished 4-9-14, Christian, 64 pages, pub. 2000

My cousin gave me this slim book(let) a few years ago and I just got around to taking the 20 minutes or so to read it.  This is a great book to give a person to explain the Christian faith in the simplest of terms.  There’s nothing new here, but it might be a good thing to have to pass along to someone who needs reassurance.  The very cool art on the cover was left for Lucado by an anonymous churchgoer.

 

actorKatharine Hepburn

Katharine Hepburn was a woman before her time.  Now she would be considered a rebel, or trend setter, but back in the 1930’s her independent and feisty nature turned audiences off and after successes she became known as box office poison.  Until a turn on Broadway in The Philadelphia Story gave her an opportunity to turn her reputation around.  She bought the rights to the story and in 1940 made one of my favorite movies ever.  Her outspoken personality, unconventional life, and a 25 year affair with actor Spencer Tracy make her one of the more interesting (and talented) actresses of the 20th century.  I think I’ve seen about 10 of her movies and consider some of them my favorites – Desk Set (1957), State of the Union (1948), Summertime (1955).  Do you have a favorite movie of hers?

movieThe Hunger Games, 2012

I have a confession to make.  I have not read The Hunger Games trilogy (gasp!).  I was impressed by how well done the movie was and I fell in love with Katniss.  She was a bad ass and I loved her bravery and smarts in the face of opposition.  The games themselves were cool and I was on the edge of my seat to see what would happen next. I liked the next movie too and am so looking forward to watching the rest. Maybe because I love the movie(s) so much I have no desire to read the books.  That may be a first for me.

bookHarry Potter series by JK Rowling

I admit that I didn’t fall in love with the series until book 3, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, but after that I couldn’t get enough.  For those of you who have read the whole series you understand when I say that I remember where I was when THAT BAD THING happened in book 6.  I was visiting a friend in Chicago and I was trying to sneak in some reading time before dinner and then, bam!, tears.  I had to pull myself together enough to look like a normal adult who wasn’t all wrapped up in Harry Potter and I think it worked.  I am looking forward to reading these with Gage someday, but they may be a little too magical for him.  Time will tell.

authorBeth Hoffman

Beth’s first book Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt was the first book I read in 2010, then I was able to interview her through an exchange of emails before finally meeting her for the first time all in the same month!  I was able to meet her again last year when she was on her book tour with Looking for Me and consider her one of warmest and most genuinely appreciative authors I’ve met.  She also makes the time to stop by here and leave comments, isn’t she cool?  Listen to her speak if you can and for sure read her two books, both are excellent!

 

April 9, 2014 - Posted by | Blogging from A-Z | ,

15 Comments »

  1. You are so right about Beth. She is very warm and extremely supportive of bloggers. And, personally, I want to thank you, Stacy, because you were the inspiration for me to see Beth when she came to Northern California last year. She has become one of my very favorite authors, both for her writing as well as for being who she is.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | April 9, 2014 | Reply

    • I’m so glad that I had a small part in gaining Beth a new fan :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  2. I love Katherine Hepburn, too! Such an amazing talent. Thank you so much for your kind words, Stacy. It’s a huge honor to see my name under the heading of “Favorite Author” … I’m a bit speechless! I didn’t know it was at your urging that Lloyd came to hear me speak in CA. So a double thank you for your wonderful support!

    Comment by Beth Hoffman | April 9, 2014 | Reply

  3. I’m sure there are tons of people, including me, who will agree with you about Beth Hoffman! Not only can she write but she has the biggest heart around.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | April 9, 2014 | Reply

  4. I’ve seem few Hepburns. Rooster Cogburn, for instance. Not the most representative!

    Comment by Tony Laplume | April 9, 2014 | Reply

    • I haven’t seen that one yet! Something about the name scares me off…

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  5. The Hunger Games books really are excellent. I think you’d love them.

    Comment by Word Lily | April 9, 2014 | Reply

    • I probably would but so many books, so little time and all that ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  6. Loved the Hunger Games trilogy, although I was a little disappointed with Mockingjay but the movies have been awesome. Aww Beth, she sure can write and she’s such a sweetie pie online, I’d love to meet her in person!!

    Comment by Teddyree | April 10, 2014 | Reply

  7. I’m totally with you on Book 3 of Harry Potter – that’s where it really began for me as well. Chamber of Secrets was my least favorite so it’s always a good sign when someone is still reading by Prisoner of Azkaban, because they really are great books.

    I’m glad you loved the Hunger Games as well! You could always read the first book and see how that goes – I watched the first movie, then read all three books and it worked out okay for me. I was not disappointed one bit.

    My A to Z theme is Harry Potter, so since you enjoyed the books, you might enjoy my posts this month, too.

    Michelle @ In Media Res

    Comment by Michelle | April 11, 2014 | Reply

  8. Beth Hoffman is such a wonderful writer! And I love the Harry Potter books. Katherine Hepburn is such a classic, isn’t she? I really like her too. I agree, the Hunger Games movie was really good!

    Comment by Literary Feline | April 14, 2014 | Reply

  9. I’m also a big fan of Katherine Hepburn! Philadelphia Story is also a favorite of mine :) I have Saving Cee Cee on my shelf. One more I need to get to!

    I think you should read the Hunger Games trilogy. There’s a lot more to Peeta than that actor can really portray and you get it in the books. He’s a really fascinatingly written male character!

    3 was also when I fell in love with HP! It’s a really great story and starts to set apart the whole series, I think.

    Comment by Heather | April 14, 2014 | Reply

  10. So many great choices. I read the 1st in Hunger Games series and was the minority of not enjoying it but I loved the movie and recently watched Catching Fire, watching this one made me say maybe I should read it.

    I also watched Book Thief and it may have helped with me wanting to read it now. Usually I do want to read the book first.

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | April 16, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

