Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Saturday Snapshot – Versailles

We took a train from Paris to Versailles.  I want to say that it took about 45 minutes, but don’t hold me to that since it’s been a few years.  When we arrived we started to walk over and were told that they weren’t giving tours that day because of the rain.  We took our time and walked over anyway and were pleasantly surprised that the official looking lady by the train station had been wrong.  The ‘home’ was over-the-top opulence as you would expect and the gardens were so perfect that even the intermittent showers couldn’t diminish them.  I wish we’d had a whole, sunny day to discover all the nooks and crannies.

France 082France 094France 225France 215France 228France 229France 088(don’t tell Jason I put this one in, okay?)

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Melinda of West Metro Mommy.  It’s easy to participate – just post a picture that was taken by you, a friend, or a family member and add your link on Melinda’s site.

(courtesy of Bookbath)

July 20, 2013 - Posted by | France, Photos | ,

37 Comments »

  1. We did the same thing. We were in Paris September of 2011 and took the train to Versailles. It was amazing.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • A must see if you’ve got the time for sure.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 20, 2013 | Reply

  2. Yes, my sister planned a trip to Versailles for us when we visited France three years ago. We spent our time in the gardens. It was a Sunday afternoon and they had music playing throughout the gardens. Lovely!

    Here’s my Saturday Snapshot.

    Comment by readerbuzz | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • I was amazed at how large and varied the gardens were.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 20, 2013 | Reply

  3. What fun pics! I have never been there….

    Comment by Sheila (Book Journey) | July 20, 2013 | Reply

  4. Love the gardens. Don’t you love traveling on European trains? Well..don’t you love everything about Europe? :)

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Saturday Snapshot

    Comment by Elizabeth | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes, I’ve loved everything (especially the ease of train travel) about Europe during our two trips there.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  5. Love the path fringed by the tall trees, and the pic of Jason is great!

    Comment by Beth Hoffman | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • The trees are my favorite too. Well, technically Jason is my favorite. Doesn’t he look like he could be an umbrella model?

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  6. Great photos, so glad you were able to see something wonderful, inspite of the weather.

    Comment by irene | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • I had forgotten how wet our Paris trip was until I started looking at the photos this month. I guess that means that it always seems sunny in Paris ;)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  7. I would love to see Versailles…the opulence, the art, it’s breathtaking

    Comment by Jennygirl | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • One day you’ll have to make the trip :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  8. I think I need to go back to France since we never made it to Versailles.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • I think it’s worth a special trip :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  9. Very pretty even with the gray skies.

    Comment by Leslie | July 20, 2013 | Reply

  10. Lovely photos! I went there on my honeymoon, so brought back some lovely memories.

    Comment by Ginny | July 20, 2013 | Reply

  11. I visited Versailles when I was a teenager and really enjoyed it. I would love to go back sometime.

    Comment by mdott922 | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • I’d go back to spend more time exploring!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  12. Gorgeous photos!

    Comment by Word Lily | July 20, 2013 | Reply

  13. Gosh, that looks just like OUR house! …or maybe not…

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • Well, since I have your address I can use GPS to stop by and tour your gardens

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  14. These are beautiful shots even in the rain. Thanks for sharing!

    Comment by Arti | July 20, 2013 | Reply

    • The rain just made it even more worth it.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  15. Lovely photos of Versailles. I bet that lady at the train station helped keep the crowd down. Good for you. I’m in Columbus and we have a lot in common. I love books, chocolate, wine and France too. However, my youngest is going to be a senior in high school, so I’m at the opposite end of the kid spectrum. Great post. I have a Dreaming of France meme on Mondays if you ever want to play along. Here’s Mine

    Comment by Paulita | July 20, 2013 | Reply

  16. Gorgeous! I love all of these beautiful Paris pics!

    Comment by Heather | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  17. This is exactly the kind of things we love to see when we travel. I have to put this one on the list!

    Comment by sandynawrot | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  18. Wonderful photos.

    Comment by Anne | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  19. I’ve been to Versailles on each of my three visits to France, and do love it. I’ve never seen it cold and rainy though- or empty! That was the biggest surprise of your photos.

    Comment by Louise | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  20. So pretty!!! I’m making a Paris dream board this summer!!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  21. :) I just caught your new header wording…and a boy!! Love it!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  22. so beautiful!!! I love Versailles.

    Comment by Marie (@bostonbibliophl) | July 22, 2013 | Reply

  23. Amazing! I want to go too :(

    Comment by violet | July 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

