Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Weekends with Gage – Gage and the Purple Crayon

Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson is a book that I have loved sharing with Gage.  It is all about imagination and that’s something I want to encourage in Gage.  The fact that purple is his favorite crayon color  and that there was a scary dragon in it made this an easy sell.  It is a little long, but Gage makes it all the way through.  I’d say It’s perfect for kids 2 1/2-5 and there are just so many activities to try with this one.  I decided to let Gage make his own. book.  Harold was armed only with a crayon, but Gage got stickers and a little help from mom.

For prep I folded 4 sheets of paper in half and then a sheet of white cardstock for the cover, collected purple crayons and stickers that could help with storytelling.  We very loosely used some of the scenes from the book.  Gage had fun even if I had to prod with the storytelling.  I will do this activity again and each time prompt more from Gage so I have to provide less.  I made the cover myself after he was done :)

purplethe set up

purple 1what should I put on the road?

purple 2sometimes one crayon is not enough

purple 3and sometimes I needed help.

purple 4I’m feeling proud.

purple 5the final productpurple 6purple 7I had so much fun with Gage I’m thinking of making one myself. I think this book is a must have for any kid.  Harold’s that is, Gage’s isn’t for sale!

France 041There’s a little bit of purple in here :(courtesy of Bookbath))

July 14, 2013 - Posted by | Gage, Kids Books

17 Comments »

  1. It was so much fun watching Gage ( & Mommy) create this book. Gage loved choosing the story and the stickers. He is very proud of it and likes to tell the story. He’s so smart:)

    Comment by Gage's grandma | July 14, 2013 | Reply

  2. What a fun fun fun idea!! We don’t own this book but I love the activity that you’ve done with it.

    Comment by Trish | July 14, 2013 | Reply

  3. This is a great book and what a fun activity for mom and son:) You Rock Mommy!

    Comment by Diane@BibliophilebytheSea | July 14, 2013 | Reply

  4. What a great activity for you to do together! I can see how proud Gage is!

    Comment by BermudaOnion | July 14, 2013 | Reply

  5. He has the best smile ever!!!

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | July 14, 2013 | Reply

  6. So fun! Such a great mom, Stacy :)

    Comment by Heather | July 14, 2013 | Reply

  7. He is so completely adorable! too bad he wasn’t for sale cuz I would scoop him up! I love your activity with him!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | July 14, 2013 | Reply

  8. We loved the Harold books when Amber was little, too. Making his own book was a great idea! And he’s cute, as always.

    Comment by Carol | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  9. I like his drawings. He is doing good. BTW, I love purple too. Royal colour and all that!

    Gage has the loveliest of smiles…:D

    Comment by Gautami Tripathy | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  10. I loved those “Harold” books, they are so cute!
    Great idea for Gage’s book!

    Comment by Melissa | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  11. He is so sweet and talented.

    Comment by Anne | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  12. I still haven’t even read this book, alas. It’s definitely on our list for some point, though.

    Comment by Word Lily | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  13. How adorable!! Gage is getting so big!

    I always loved the Harold books. This is such a fun activity and a great idea! (Way to go Mommy!) Save that book because you will treasure it forever and Gage will enjoy it too when he gets older. My boys like looking at their old things but not as much as I do. :)

    Comment by Wrighty | July 15, 2013 | Reply

  14. Oh I love this idea just fantastic! I have seen this book around online and wondered if it was any good. Might have to see if my local library has a copy.

    Comment by caspette | July 16, 2013 | Reply

  15. how fun, way to go super mom!

    Comment by kelley | July 16, 2013 | Reply

  16. What a great activity! Now Gage can read his own bedtime story.

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | July 18, 2013 | Reply

  17. Fun book and I love how it inspired yours and Gage’s creativity. His proud smile is just the cutest ever!!

    Comment by Teddyree | July 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

