Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood by Jim Fay & Charles Fay, PhD

Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood: Practical Parenting from Birth to Six YearsLove and Logic Magic for Early Childhood. Finished 3-5-2013, rating 4.25, 165 pages, pub. 2000

Parenting little ones can be exhausting until you discover Love and Logic. Take the exhaustion out and put the fun into parenting your little one. If you want help with: . Potty training. Temper tantrums. Bedtime. Whining. Time-out. Hassle-free mornings. and many other everyday challenges then this book is for you!  This book is the tool parents of little ones have been waiting for.  America’s Parenting Experts Jim Fay and Charles Fay, Ph.D., help you start your child off on the right foot. The tools in Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood will give you the building blocks you need to create children who grow up to be responsible, successful teens and adults. And as a bonus you will enjoy every stage of your child’s life and look forward to sharing a lifetime of joy with them

from Goodreads

I don’t read many how-to parenting books, but Gage has some behavioral issues and another mother recommended this to me.

Here’s what I liked

This really will help make dealing with misbehavior easier.  You let go of the anger by feigning sincere empathy for your toddler/hellion.  After only a few days of trying some of these techniques my blood pressure hasn’t spiked once :)

I like the philosophy behind it.  All that love and empathy has to be good, right?

Concrete examples of what to do in a (limited) number of situations/meltdowns.

Very fast and easy read.

Here’s what I didn’t like

The tone was a little patronizing and some of the examples seemed a bit too good to be true.  Not every kid is going to respond to this style and the authors seem unwilling to believe that.

The subtitle says it for ages birth to 6 years, but in reality there is very little here for the under 3 crowd and really nothing for under 2 (except to love your baby without anger and I’m not sure that really needs to be said. At least it shouldn’t).

The bottom line is that I would recommend this for any mom of a toddler.  And I’m not the only one recommending it, I had to wait for it at the library and there are more parents waiting for me to return it!

March 6, 2013 - Posted by | 4 Star Books | ,

16 Comments »

  1. I’m glad it helped some but you are so right – not everything works for every child. I tried time out with Vance and when I’d tell him he could come out of it, he’d tell me he was happy there and would stay there for a while. I found taking a privilege away was much more effective for him. Gage is going to be just fine with you as his mama.

    Comment by bermudaonion(Kathy) | March 6, 2013 | Reply

    • I’ve found that putting Gage in ‘time out’ even for a minute is not useful. He doesn’t mind the time to himself :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | March 15, 2013 | Reply

  2. Sounds like a very helpful book for parents of little ones. I remember those 5 and under days and they could be really challenging at times!

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | March 6, 2013 | Reply

  3. I remember trying Love and Logic . . . . .

    Comment by kelley | March 7, 2013 | Reply

    • He’s been so sick this week that I haven’t had the heart to try any of it.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | March 15, 2013 | Reply

  4. I went to many conferences (as an educator) for Love & Logic with Jim Fay. I didn’t like his condescending attitude, but we adopted numerous techniques in several districts. I also went to see another speaker (more of a softer, Christian approach, but the same idea) and bought his book. If you are interested, I’ll look it up because I don’t remember it right now. :)

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | March 10, 2013 | Reply

    • The condescending attitiude comes through in the book, but I can see adopting some of these techniques in school would work well. I’d love the name of the other person who you used. Any recommendations are good ones at this point!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | March 15, 2013 | Reply

      • His name is Chick Moorman. He’s written several books. Here’s a link to my thoughts on one of them: Spirit Whisperers

        Comment by Thoughts of Joy | April 5, 2013

  5. Hmm…maybe I should’ve read this one!! :D

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | March 11, 2013 | Reply

    • Nah, I think you did just fine without it :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | March 15, 2013 | Reply

  6. Will it work with High Schoolers?! I’m heading back into a long-term sub job and am already hyperventilating.

    Comment by Care | March 12, 2013 | Reply

  7. I am also not a bit fan of parenting books. All parenting books seem to suffer from “it’s our way or no way” syndrome, which to me is not helpful as it makes you a feel like a failure when your method hasn’t worked.

    Sometimes it seems like you just gotta do the best you can and hope you get through the other side ok. Preferably without the need of therapy :)

    Comment by caspette | March 14, 2013 | Reply

    • I agree that most of these books make you feel like a failure, but it Fay’s defense this one didn’t! Maybe that is why I got so much out of it.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | March 15, 2013 | Reply

  8. I asked for this book on my registry, and received it, but haven’t read it yet. After your review, I don’t think I’d read it until LO is closer to 2 yo or I won’t remember a thing! (He’s 7m now) Thanks for reviewing :)

    Comment by christa @ mental foodie | March 18, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

