Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Timeless Desire by Gwyn Cready and why reading on the iPhone isn’t the best use of technology

Timeless Desire: An Outlander Love StoryTimeless Desire. Finished 2-6-13, rating 3.75/5, romance, pub. 2012

I added this to my wishlist when I read Mary’s review and then she posted again when the ebook went on sale for 99 cents.  Never one to pass up a deal I bought it.  Keep in mind that I received a Nook for my birthday in October and have read only a few books on it.  I got caught at the salon (having my hair cut and colored for the first time in over 6 months. Yikes!) with NO BOOK.  But I did have my iPhone and the Nook app so it took me seconds to download this one but forever to read.  So here’s my deal, I think the further away from actual books I get the less enjoyment that I receive from reading them.  I like my Nook fine and find it great when I have insomnia but don’t want to wake Jason or leave bed, BUT I’ll still choose a real, honest to goodness book given the choice.  As for reading a book on the iPhone, I cannot possibly recommend it.  Yes, I always had a book with me, but it really didn’t feel like a book.  It felt like I was reading in between important things and for mere minutes at a time.  I’m glad I tried it and I’m not crazy enough to say I will never do it again, but my expectations for enjoyment are low.  Okay, just wanted to share so that you understand that my thoughts on this one are probably influenced by ADD iPhone reading.

Panna is modern librarian who buried her much loved husband two years ago and is still resisting getting close to another man.  At least until she finds a passageway that leads her to Captain Jamie Bridgewater in the early 1700′s.  Jamie is living on the border of England and Scotland and has the heritage of both and Panna’s arrival is catalyst for change.

I thought this was a fun time travel romance.  The sex scenes were imaginative for sure but I really hate the ‘it’s all a dream or fantasy’ sex scenes.  What’s the point?  Anyway, other than that I thought it was fun and I will definitely read more by Cready.  In paper this time.

I can recommend this for any romance lover.  The characters are sexy and Jamie and Panna’s stories were both compelling and worthwhile.

February 7, 2013 - Posted by | 3 1/2 Star Books |

17 Comments »

  1. Ha! I feel the same way. I’ve read quite a few on my Nook since I find some good deals but I really love holding an actual book in my hands. Though, ebooks do save trees ;) I always enjoy a good romance!

    Comment by hmsgofita | February 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes, ebooks save trees, but I think, if given a choice, a tree may be willing to give his life for a book :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. I like reading on my Kindle Paperwhite from time to time, the iPad when on the treadmill, but the iPhone? Not unless I’m waiting in a long line of strangers at the PO or DMV and forgot to bring an actual book.

    Comment by Mary | February 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes, I have another one ready to go on the iPhone and haven’t had the heart to even look at it :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  3. I tried reading a book on my phone and it just didn’t work for me, so I know exactly what you’re talking about. Kudos to you for finishing it – I gave up quickly.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | February 7, 2013 | Reply

  4. I totally can’t read much at all on the iphone- too small!!!

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | February 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes. It was something I’m not looking to repeat.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  5. I’ve always wanted to read Cready but never got around to it.
    I tried my phone once, and said no way! Thanks for the review pretty lady!
    Doesn’t feel good leaving the salon freshened up?

    Comment by jennygirl | February 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes, salons are good for the self esteem. I need to make another trip :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  6. I read one of Cready’s books before and really enjoyed it even though time travel is not usually my thing. I might have to pick this one up. I’m not a big fan of reading on my phone either, not because of the actual reading experience, but because people seem way more likely to interrupt my reading than they would be if I were holding a paperback or even my Kindle.

    Comment by Carol | February 7, 2013 | Reply

    • I took a book to a rastaurant bar at a not very busy happy hour and I was reading for 5 minutes before a couple started making conversation with me. I just wanted my wine and half off appetizer and time away from a tantramming child. I was not happy, even of they were lovely people.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  7. I have read a few books on my iPod so I do understand what you mean, but in a pinch I would so read a book on my iPhone because otherwise I would go a bit crazy!! :D

    This one sounds cute!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | February 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Only in a pinch! The experience isn’t all that good.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  8. Are you sure that wasn’t some kind of Outlander book? Why even name the guy Jamie?! Yea, I am not fond of reading books on my phone. Nope.

    Comment by Care | February 8, 2013 | Reply

    • I thought the same think about the character being named Jamie!!!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 28, 2013 | Reply

  9. I have to admit that I still prefer reading a printed book over my Nook. I definitely could not read a book on my iPhone with my middle-aged eyes!

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | March 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

