Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Gage reads Pansy at the Palace by Cynthia Bardes

009Pansy at the Palace-A Beverly Hills Mystery, written by Cynthia Barnes and illustrated by Kim Weissenborn was sent to us by the publicist.

Pansy’s life blossoms when she is adopted from an animal shelter by a loving family and little girl named Avery. Swept into her new life at the Palace Hotel in Beverly Hills, this smart and courageous puppy saves the day by solving a mysterious theft. Pansy at the Palace celebrates the spirit of curiosity and exploration, and teaches us that no one is too small to make a difference in the lives of many!

32 pages casebound with jacket, full color published by Octobre Press (from PansyAtThePalace.com)

We went out to Buffalo Wild Wings (a great chain restaurant that does an excellent job with an allergy-free menu) last night and took Pansy with us.  Gage was less enamored with the book than I was only because I think it is just out of his age level at 2 and as much as I loved the illustrations he sometimes found them too busy, probably because it was just out of his range.  He did like the simpler illustrations and there was about the right amount of reading on the each page for him, so I can see us trying this agin in a month or two and having it be more fun for him.

Here’s what I loved.  The book itself is wonderfully done.  Hardcover with great dust jacket and the pages are thick with beautiful, colorful illustrations.

The story itself of a dog being rescued from a shelter is perfect for kids.  I think if you are going to go to a shelter to choose a dog or cat then this book would really teach your child what a great thing rescuing animals is and to feel great about having a rescue at home.  And what dog doesn’t want to be rescued and taken to live in luxury hotel in Beverly Hills?  It doesn’t hurt that Pansy is adorable and smart.

And there is a mystery involving stolen jewelry, so if you want to turn your young one into a mystery lover than this is a great place start.  I loved it.

Pansy at the PalaceFun fact whenever I see Beverly Hills in a book I always fondly remember the one day I worked there many moons ago.  I made cold calls to businesses to try to get them to buy office supplies.  Every girl who was working there had to say that her name was Linda Black so that when you transferred them for the sale the manager didn’t have to think about who to say.  I had to take 2 buses to get there and then I had to say I was Linda Black all day long.  I didn’t go back for day two.  I’m glad that it worked out better for Pansy :)

February 3, 2013 - Posted by | Gage, Kids Books

20 Comments »

  1. I think it’s very cool to do reviews of children’s books. Nice.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | February 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. The pic of Gage with the book is adorable!

    Comment by Beth Hoffman | February 3, 2013 | Reply

  3. Wow, Linda Black! What an amazing story! :–)

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | February 3, 2013 | Reply

  4. I love it! Right now I’m reading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory with Gabe. I’m trying to introduce the concept of books that take longer to read and while he still is pretty antsy, he enjoys hearing about the chocolate factory each night before bed. I’m so glad you are telling us about these fun books with Gage!

    Comment by hmsgofita | February 3, 2013 | Reply

    • The Roald Dahl chapter books are the best. When my 3rd child was about 5, I would read her The BFG (big friendly giant). My 2 older ones, who were 5 years and 7 years older, would always “stop by” to hear the story. You’re never too old for Roald Dahl.

      Comment by Lloyd Russell | February 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Once we move Gage to a bed (any day now)we’ll start with the books that are longer. Charlie’s a good one!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  5. That looks adorable Stacy!

    Comment by Diane@BibliophilebytheSea | February 3, 2013 | Reply

  6. That looks like a fantastic book! Vance loved any book that had a dog in it.

    I love the Linda Black story!

    Comment by BermudaOnion | February 3, 2013 | Reply

  7. I think it looks adorable. you’re right, revisit it again at some point later this year and Gage will probably love it! He was probably mesmerized by all the big screen tv’s with sports playing at Buffalo wild Wings!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | February 3, 2013 | Reply

    • He does love all of the excitement there. It’s our favorite place to take him because he keeps busy and the menu is kid/allergy friendly.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  8. This sounds adorable, our Bella is a rescue puppy so I’m totally a fan of the storyline and I love beautifully illustrated children’s books. Can’t wait for grandchildren so I can start buying gorgeous kiddies books again.

    PS thanks so much Stacy, I got a lovely surprise in the mailbox with Violets of March arriving :)

    Comment by Teddyree | February 3, 2013 | Reply

    • If you buy the beautiful kids books they won’t stay that way. Gage’s favorites are well worn. And by that I mean lots of tears and wrinkles pages. He is a very active reader :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  9. Sounds delightful… wonder if Gage will start his own blog soon ;-)

    Comment by lakesidemusing | February 4, 2013 | Reply

    • Maybe I can change the name and he can help me here.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  10. I worked at a job many summers ago where we had to answer the phones using one name, but I can’t remember what it was. Sandy something or other, lol.

    That looks like a cute book! I’m sure he’ll enjoy it more when he’s a bit older, since the illustrations (at least the cover) looks fantastic.

    Comment by Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) | February 4, 2013 | Reply

    • Too funny about using the same name. After that I wondered how many other places did the same thing!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | February 27, 2013 | Reply

  11. Nice review Stacy and so happy to see Gage’s wonderful little face and to know he is a reader!

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | February 4, 2013 | Reply

  12. Hi Linda! (That is a funny little story.) It is neat to see your kid starting to read, isn’t it? I hope Pansy opens the door to more books he loves.

    Comment by Jenners | February 5, 2013 | Reply

  13. Cute picture of Gage. This is a great books for kids and Gage will grow into it before you know it.
    Have a great day Linda !

    Comment by jennygirl | February 7, 2013 | Reply

  14. Thanks for such a nice review. We are thinking of a sequel. By that time Gage might be more engaged. :)

    Comment by Kim Weissenborn | March 23, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

