Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen, just what I needed

The Girl Who Chased the MoonThe Girl Who Chased the Moon. Finished 1-29-13, rating 4.5/5, magical realism, 269 pages, pub. 2010

Something suddenly caught her eye. She quickly stepped to the balustrade.  She thought she saw something in the woodline beyond the gazebo in the overgrown backyard.

There! There is was again. It was a bright white light-a quick, zippy flash-darting between the trees. Gradually, the light faded, moving back into the darkness of the wood until it disappeared completely.

Welcome to Mullaby, North Carolina, she thought. Home of ghost lights, giants, and jewelry thieves.

Chapter One

Emily recently lost her mother, the only family she has ever known, and is shipped off to her grandfather in North Carolina.  Julia is from Mullaby but left as a teenager only to return as an adult after her father died.  Both plan on  being there for  short time, but both find themselves with reasons to stay in the quaint, close-knit town full of secrets and charm.

I loved Allen’s first book Garden Spells and found myself almost as enchanted with this quirky and magical tale of lost love and the trials of growing up.  She has a talent for making stories that are light and still satisfying.  Oh, and romantic.  Emily and Julia both found men to appreciate them even when they didn’t want to be appreciated.  Julia’s story of her teen years carried the novel for me and I was happy to see her get her happy ending (this is Sarah Addison Allen so I don’t think I’m spoiling anything by saying that).

I like magical realism, especially when done well, and need to read more.  Let me know if you have a favorite.

This was from my personal library and I decided to read it after I saw it on Carrie’s 2012 favorites list.

January 30, 2013 - Posted by | 4 1/2 Star Books | ,

17 Comments »

  1. Don’t you love it when the right book comes along at the right time? I haven’t tried her work yet but do own a couple of her books. This one sounds wonderful!

    Comment by BermudaOnion | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  2. LOVE SAA!

    Comment by Care | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  3. I really liked this book but I think Garden Spells is still my favorite. I enjoy all of her books though.

    Comment by Mary | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  4. I keep reading great reviews and am very intrigued, I think I may try Garden Spells first. Sounds lovely Stacy.

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  5. This one sounds so good. Magical realism when done well is…magical!

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  6. This was the first SAA book I read and quickly searched out her other ones.

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  7. Thanks for reminding me I want to read another one of her books. She is a breath of fresh magical realistic air, isn’t she?

    Comment by Jenners | January 30, 2013 | Reply

  8. The author really has a loyal following, but I’ve read two of her books and just couldn’t love them. Maybe it was the narrator on the audio? I’m not totally sure, but I do appreciate the little magical things she puts in her stories.

    Comment by Sandy | January 31, 2013 | Reply

    • Sandy, I listened to The Sugar Queen on audio and couldn’t get into it even though it’s the favorite of many, so I think some of the magic is lost in the audio. The two that I’ve read in print I’ve loved.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  9. I don’t think I’ve heard of this one before, but I do like tha sound of it :)

    Comment by notesoflifeuk | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  10. Garden Spells is still my favorite, but I’ve read all of her books and loved each in their own unique way. She can write that magical element so well that you’re totally believing in it!!!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  11. I have this one on my shelf but have yet to read it. But I need to. I like Addison’s style of magical realism, which is light and fun. Much of the magical realism I’ve read has been good but a lot more heady and deep. So she’s a good alternative when I need a lighter feel :)

    Comment by hmsgofita | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  12. I love Sarah Addison Allen’s novels! They are the PERFECT magical realism type of novels. I think I may have to re-read some soon.

    Comment by Sarah Says Read | February 1, 2013 | Reply

  13. I need to read Garden Spells first.
    So glad you enjoyed it :)

    Comment by jennygirl | February 1, 2013 | Reply

  14. I loved Garden Spells too, this one is waiting patiently for me :)

    Comment by Teddyree | February 2, 2013 | Reply

  15. I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

    Comment by booksandmovies (@booksandmovies) | February 2, 2013 | Reply

  16. so glad you enjoyed it! I loved Garden Spells and have been meaning to read her next two books. Hasn’t happened yet though… *sigh*

    Comment by Wrighty | February 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

