Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Sundays with Gage & My favorite books and movies of 2012

015This has been a fun year with Gage.  I think the year and a half range is my favorite age :)  Now that he’s 2 plus a few Gage’s role on the blog will be changing in 2013.  He’ll still be here, doing some book reviews, special events, showing up in Saturday Snapshots, and just to say hi.  He won’t be a stranger, but Sundays with Gage will be a thing of the past.  I hate to do it because Gage is much more popular that most of my book reviews, but it will be nice not to have the pressure of writing a post every Sunday.  If you truly need a consistent Gage update I would be happy to be friends on Facebook where I will be updating more.  Thank you all so much for your loving and kind words about my kid, I think he’s wonderful too :)  And expect to see him in the next week or so reviewing a very awesome book about a dog.  And he might be giving something away too.  See, he’ll be taking a more grown-up role around here!

As you can see, Gage refused to give me a smile when he realized this was his last Sundays with Gage.

*

*

*

*

*

This has been a very slow reading year for me, so I’m going to do a top 5 list instead of 10 for my favorite movies and books.  Let me know if you’ve read any of them!

Top 5 Books

BelovedBeloved by Toni Morrison. Part of my Ohio tour and I am looking forward to reading more from this universally beloved author.

The Violets of MarchThe Violets of March by Sarah Jio.  The book was as great that sweet cover.

In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad Series #1)In the Woods by Tana French.  So glad that this was the last book I read this year.  Ended on a high note!

ItIt by Stephen King. Loved taking part in my first read-along.  The It-a-long rocked!

Stories I Only Tell My FriendsStories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe.  I can only vouch for the audio read by Lowe himself.  I was charmed by it.

Favorite 5 Movies of 2012

The Hunger Games, 2012.  I have not read the books but loved the movie.

Looper, 2012. Loved this time-travel thriller.  I think I have a crush on Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

The Hobbit:An Unexpected Journey, 2012.  It’s so nice to go back to Middle Earth, disappointed it’s going to be one of three Hobbit movies.

The Secret Life of Bees, 2008.  Loved the book and the movie, a rarity.

It’s Complicated, 2009.  I love Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin and this movie delivered.

December 30, 2012 - Posted by | Bookish Stuff, Gage

20 Comments »

  1. Gage is losing that baby look and looking more like a little boy :) I agree about the Rob Lowe book – it was much better than I expected and I loved his reading of the audiobook. It really made the experience so much better than reading the print.

    Comment by Mary | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the recommendations:) I am heading right over to FB:)

    Comment by Pinkim (kim wright) | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  3. Maybe I should have listened to the audio of Lowe’s book. I struggled with reading it. You gave me a few others to add to my list.

    Comment by Tami | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  4. I’ve enjoyed watching Gage grow over the last couple of years! I loved Violets of March too. Looking forward to reading In The Woods next year. Happy New Year!

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  5. I love your blog! Keep up the great work! =)

    “Its complicated” is one of my favorite movies of all time! So cute!!! =) Alec Baldwin, Meryl Streep and Steve Martin are so cute in this movie, I bet I have watched it about 5 times. =)

    Comment by my recent favorite books | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  6. Your little baby is now a little boy. I’ll miss Sundays With Gage, but I totally understand. I’ve read 3 of your top 5 books – none of them this year. Enjoyed all. And I’ve seen 3 of your 5 movies. Looking forward to seeing Looper. It just came out on DVD or it will this week maybe.

    Here’s to a great 2013 for all of you, Stacy!

    Comment by Kay | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  7. I guess Gage is a bigger draw than book reviews because he’s just so darn cute! Seriously, I’ve enjoyed Sundays with Gage, but understand reasons for calling it quits. I hope to read both Beloved (it’s already loaded on my ipod) and In the Woods in 2013, and I LOVED It’s Complicated!

    Comment by lakesidemusing | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  8. Gage looks disappointed that he won’t be featured on Sundays anymore! Happy New Year to you and your family!

    Comment by bermudaonion(Kathy) | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  9. It’s Complicated is one movie I’ve seen about 5 times –loved it — the (3) of them – Steep, Baldwin and Martin were awesome. Happy New Year – Give Gage a hug from all of us.

    Comment by diane | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  10. Gage is so big now! I loved THE HOBBIT and HUNGER GAMES. I wish you a wonderful 2013!

    Comment by Alice Teh | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  11. Looking forward to Gage’s ‘grown up’ contributions and change is good, your blog has to be ‘you’ friendly :)
    Haven’t read any of the books on your list but Sarah Jio made my favourites with The Bungalow and Violets of March and In the Woods are on my TBR stacks. The Hobbit, Life of Pi and Le Mis are our next must sees at the movies and Looper at home.

    Comment by Teddyree | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  12. Awww…Gage is growing up! I know what you mean about not wanting that pressure of having to write a post on a specific day. Just provide periodic updates (and some photos) and we’ll all be happy!!!

    I’m so with you on Looper!! I loved that movie! I don’t get why it wasn’t a huge huge hit!

    Wishing you all the best in 2013!!!!

    Comment by Jenners | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  13. I’ve read 4 of the 5..but want to read Rob Lowe’s book and 3 of the 5 movies. I must see The Hobbit!!!

    I will miss Gage’s sweet face but seeing how we are friends on FB I am a happy camper!!!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | December 31, 2012 | Reply

  14. I haven’t read those books yet but want to! Great movies as well. I’ll miss seeing Gage’s face every Sunday but totally understand.

    Comment by hmsgofita | December 31, 2012 | Reply

  15. Gage will be missed. Such a sweetie. :)

    I really hate, hate, hate that I didn’t get to finish IT. This year has just been so crappy with personal issues. I haven’t had time to focus on my first love (well, second love…forgot about my sons…LOL)…reading. 2013 is going to be MY year…for once!

    I LOVED Looper! And The Hobbit, of course. Hunger Games was good. I also liked the Bees one and It’s Complicated was hilarious, even though I watched them both a couple of years ago.

    Great lists, Stacy. Happy New Year! And I will be looking you up on Facebook. My Facebook name is Michelle Stockard Miller.

    Comment by thetruebookaddict | December 31, 2012 | Reply

    • Well, I said I was going to look you up on Facebook, but I don’t know what to look under so I hope you will look me up. :)

      Comment by thetruebookaddict | December 31, 2012 | Reply

  16. Oh man I haven’t read any of your top 5 books. I’ll have to get reading!

    Comment by Amused By Books (@amusedbybooks) | December 31, 2012 | Reply

  17. I have enjoyed your Sundays with Gage feature, Stacy, but I completely understand. I love your book and movie features too though–so I’ll still be hanging around. Plus, we’ve got Facebook. :-)

    In the Woods is such a great book. And I really must read something by Sarah Jio. Her covers are always so gorgeous, aren’t they? My movie watching has fallen by the wayside big time in the last couple of years. I did get to see The Hobbit last week and loved it. I am glad you did too.

    Have a very Happy New Year, my friend!

    Comment by Literary Felinel | December 31, 2012 | Reply

  18. Oh I am glad Beloved was in your tops list! I have it to read this month as part of the January books to finally read.

    Comment by Care | January 1, 2013 | Reply

  19. The movies for Hunger Games and Secret Life of Bees are amazing, I agree. I really want to read a Tana French book.

    Comment by Tea Time with Marce | January 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

