Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Birthday Giveaway & Bouchercon Wrap-Up

I was all set to do a few Bouchercon posts this week but to be honest, I’m just not that motivated.  I’ll leave you with a few fun tidbits that came out of two panels.  One of my favorite panels was Mysteries & the Movies and the first question referred to the casting of Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher.  All five of the panelists agreed that they would take the best actor over a physical resemblance.

Exciting news for Chelsea Cain fans, FX is adapting the Gretchen Lowell series and each book will be a different series.  She turned down $100,000 to write the script.

On the flip side, when Robin Cook sold the rights to Sphinx it came with a deal for him to write the screenplay.  When he turned in his four page sample he was promptly fired.  He got to keep the $1 million.

There was a Family Feud game with lots of fun authors and Hank Ryan Phillipi as host.  One of the questions was, Actor Who Should Play Jack Reacher.  Survey of 100′s of mystery lovers says

1.Liam Neeson (not bad)

2.Daniel Craig (also not bad)

3.Harrison Ford (huge laugh from the crowd)

4. Tom Cruise (a few groans from the crowd)

5. Anyone but Tom Cruise (another huge laugh)

Jason got me a Nook Tablet for my birthday.  Great, another device I need to learn to use.  I’m still figuring out my iPhone.  Seriously, it is a very nice gift and I’m looking forward to reading  on it.

I brought home lots of books from Bouchercon and I’m giving 5 away to you, my favorite bookish pals.  Just leave a comment on this post and you’ll be entered.  Leave a comment on any post this week and you’ll be entered every time.  On Saturday I’ll draw 3 winners.  The first will get first choice and choose one book, the second winner will choose two books and the third winner will get the last two.  Easy, right?  Just comment all week long and you might win.

You can earn more entries by commenting on this post , guessing on my Tuesday Quiz and commenting here.

October 12, 2012 - Posted by | Bouchercon, FREE

15 Comments »

  1. I haven’t read any of the Jack Reacher books, so I don’t know who would play him best. I agree that the best actor is a better choice over a physical resemblance, but I can’t imagine anyone thinking Tom Cruise is the best actor.

    Comment by bermudaonion(Kathy) | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. My husband is a big fan of the Reacher series and he is incredulous that Tom Cruise will play Reacher. I suspect I won’t be able to get him to watch the movie. :-)

    Comment by Kay | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. Yay for that great birthday present from Jason! He sure seems like a great guy! :–)

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  4. Not very motivated seems to be my constant state when it comes to blogging these days. :-/ I feel pretty out of the loop, since I haven’t read any of the Reacher books.

    Comment by Word Lily | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  5. Sometimes, miscellaneous notes, like you have above, are a fun departure from the single-subject blogs that we typically write.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  6. i wish i get lucky.. i really love books

    Comment by vicky vaitsi | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  7. Four pages and he got to keep 1million dollars!!?? I wan that job.
    And with all the actors out there, I am sure they can find a good actor AND someone who resembles Jack Reacher more.

    Twelve…come to me.

    Comment by Jenners | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  8. Awesome birthday gift. You will love it once you get the hang of it. Unfortunately, I am not sure there is anyone good enough to play Jack Reacher!

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk) | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  9. Sounds like I need to read that series.

    Comment by donnas1 | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  10. Noooo Tom Cruise playing Jack Reacher is a joke … right? Awesome birthday pressie, won’t take you long to figure it out :)

    Comment by Teddyree | October 12, 2012 | Reply

  11. Was James Thompson, an American author living in Finland, at Boucheron?

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | October 13, 2012 | Reply

  12. Those movie execs, you sure can’t please them. Cook probably kept it too close to the book. You know how most movie makers like to monkey with the original story. :( I’m not familiar with Jack Reacher, but I have heard a lot of squealing about Tom Cruise playing him. It will be interesting to see the reaction after the film comes out.

    Happy birthday again, Stacy….and congrats on your Nook tablet. What a great gift!

    Comment by thetruebookaddict | October 13, 2012 | Reply

  13. I have been away at a Breast Cancer grant review meeting and so this is my first chance to comment on anything…I have the Reacher books but haven’t had a chance to read them yet:)

    Comment by Pinkim (kim wright) | October 13, 2012 | Reply

  14. While Tom Cruise in no way resembles Jack Reacher, he’s a BIG name and I think most authors would be glad to have him star in a movie based on their books. After all, big movie star = big ratings (usually!)

    Sounds like you had a great time :)

    Comment by notesoflifeuk | October 13, 2012 | Reply

  15. I’m a loser because I’m a day late!! Oh well, I think that’s funny about Cruise and Reacher. He is NOT Reacher at all. Don’t care what they say…he’s not! :D

    I want that Cronin book..insert whine.

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | October 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

