Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

World Book Night/Day

I handed out my last book at 4:40 at Walgreens.  World Book Night was a success :)  I chose The Glass Castle and Jason reminded me last night about how I came to read The Glass Castle.  Jason is not a big reader, but in the break room at his office there is always a pile of 20 or so books for people to take/exchange and one day he brought home a random book for me to be sweet.  I had seen the book on a few blogs but, not being a memoir reader, never thought I’d read it.  But you all told me I had to and when I did I was blown away and it ended up being one of my favorites of the year.  So, we’ve come full circle.  Someone put the book out there to be found and read, I did, and today I got to put the same books out there to inspire 20 more people to read.

I handed out books at the dermatologist, wine store, dry cleaners, and Walgreens.  Everyone was so excited.  I will say it was hard to really differentiate the reader from the non reader when giving them away.  I tried my best.  And it was weird to say World Book Night when I was handing them out at 1 pm!

April 23, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

6 Comments »

  1. I didn’t even try to differentiate readers from non-readers because I couldn’t figure out a way to do it. I had no problem giving books away but some people seemed skeptical even as they took the book.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. Hi Stacy,
    I also write a book blog – http://booksage.blogspot.com/. I have been writing in since the beginning of January, 2011. In February of last year, I wrote an article that was called Fiction for the Non-Fiction Reader. I had 13 books on the list that I thought even non-fiction readers would like. I thought The Glass Castle was so good, that I included it in that list – even though it’s non-fiction! I was glad to see your blog about The Glass Castle. I not only think it is one of the best non-fiction books I have read, I actually think it’s one of the best books I’ve read – period. Like you, I had it right at the top of the books I read the year it came out. Nice call.

    Comment by Lloyd Russell | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. I just love the whole idea of you giving away those books today and making someone smile and get excited about reading!! I loved this one too! Great choice!!

    Comment by Staci Collins Taylor | April 23, 2012 | Reply

  4. This is just soooo awesome, Stacy! Yeah! I think I may even try this next year! Talk about inspiring ;) Thanks for sharing this. I also enjoyed the Glass Castle. Just so unique and such a page-turner.

    Comment by hmsgofita | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  5. I reaaly wanted to participate and can’t remember what stopped me from signing up. I hope to next year.

    Comment by Care | April 29, 2012 | Reply

  6. That is so awesome. I love those “full circle” moments in life and think that World Book Night is such a great thing to participate in every year. I’ve yet to do it, but it is on my bucket list!

    Comment by boardinginmyforties | May 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

