Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Best & Worst of Juliette Binoche

The beautiful French actress Juliette Binoche turns 48 today.  How is it that these actresses stay looking so young?  I LOVED her in the movie Chocolat (2000).  I loved Vianne’s spirit, her shop with delicious looking chocolate and her good taste in men (Johnny Depp never looked sexier).  I thought she was luminous and magical.  I HATED everything about The English Patient (1996) so I can’t really blame her completely, but I made myself and Jason suffer through the movie and I celebrated when it was finished.  I’m obviously in the minority here since she did take home an Oscar for Supporting Actress.

So, I’d like to take a poll - What’s your favorite and/or least favorite Juliette Binoche film?  Complete list here.

FAVORITE

4 for Chocolat (Beth, Nise, Stephanie, Stacy)

(Yes, this idea probably came to me because of Alyce’s Best & Worst author series)

March 9, 2012 - Posted by | Actor's Best & Worst |

7 Comments »

  1. I’m with you, I loved her in CHOCOLAT the best.

    Comment by Beth Hoffman | March 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. I agree with Chocolat! I liked her in Wuthering Heights. One year I rented all versions available of the movie. This was a good one, a couple of them were so bad!

    Comment by Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)N | March 9, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hard for me to chime in as I think I’ve only seen The English Patient. Still, I think I might have seen in her in something else as I have some recognition of her. It couldn’t just be from that movie.

    Comment by Jenners | March 9, 2012 | Reply

  4. I loved The English Patient! But Chocolat comes out on top because, well, chocolate. Need I say more?

    Comment by Stephanie D. | March 9, 2012 | Reply

  5. I did love her in Chocolat but she was good in Dan in Real Life too!!!

    Comment by Staci@LifeintheThumb | March 11, 2012 | Reply

  6. I don’t think I can really make an informed choice since the only movie of hers that I’ve seen was The English Patient.

    Comment by Alyce | March 13, 2012 | Reply

    • “The English Patient”….? Don’t remind me (LOL).
      I had the same reaction during the movie, “Seinfeld”‘s Elaine had: DIE ALREADY!

      Comment by Joseph J. Neuschatz M.D. | March 16, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

