Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Sundays with Gage- When Organic Matters

I read this post by Constance Marie when we were starting to plan for Gage’s arrival and wanted to do as much organically as possible.  The no VOC paint was the easiest thing to do.  It dried fast and there were not fumes.  I also became convinced that an organic crib was the way to go, but when I started researching them they were expensive.  Jason and I went back and forth on whether to invest in an Amish organic crib and in the end we bought it.  Kids Collection uses organic wood and stain (if you pay more) so that no chemicals will come near your baby when they sleep. Or in Gage’s case, come near his teeth!  This is what Gage works on when mom and dad are sleeping.

 Do you see those teeth marks?!

I also signed up for Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon next weekend. I’ve asked my parents to come up and help with Gage for the weekend.  I’d like to see if I can make it the whole 24 hours.  As a newish mom I can get by on a lot less sleep now, but I know I’ll miss that afternoon nap!  If you haven’t already signed up you should. Here’s the link.  I’m sure some of that time will be spent reading to Gage so that he can participate too :)

October 16, 2011 - Posted by | Gage |

17 Comments »

  1. I think teeth marks on cribs are pretty common. Vance slept in our nephew’s old crib and by the time we were done with it, it had teeth marks from both of them on it.

    Comment by bermudaonion (Kathy) | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  2. Too bad about the pretty wood though! :–)

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. Love those teeth marks!

    Comment by Nise' | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’ve been tempted, but I know i’d pay for it when I went to work and I can’t have that with the job I have…
    I love the teeth marks…Looks like the crib was a smart investment…lol…

    Comment by Pinkim (kim wright) | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  5. Yummy wood!! He’s a hoot!

    Comment by Staci | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  6. Wow, those are some impressive bite marks! So glad you’re participating in the Readathon — I can’t wait :-)

    Comment by Erin | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  7. Oh wonder if they have that paint here? I want to paint the little mans room over Christmas because we had a bad attack of mould over last wet season. Wow Gage is a little chomper isnt he?

    Comment by Caspette | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  8. Wow … he’s got some strong chompers there!

    Comment by Jenners | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  9. Organic was definitely the way to go! That little cutie pie is teething on his crib.

    Comment by jennygirl | October 17, 2011 | Reply

  10. Good for you! I’m wondering if I could get my husband to help me out with the readathon…I haven’t done one since junior high ;( I just want to read all night without worrying about the next day! Hmmmm. Good luck with it and i”ll keep thinking on that one. Gage is such a cutie!!!! I love these weekly updates on him and your family. Thanks, Stacy!

    Comment by Heather | October 17, 2011 | Reply

  11. Looks like going with the organic crib was a great idea.

    I really wish I could do the read-a-thon, but I don’t think it’s going to happen this year.

    Comment by Carol | October 17, 2011 | Reply

  12. Getting an organic crib was certainly smart. Gage has been gnawing!

    Comment by StephanieD | October 17, 2011 | Reply

  13. LOL–maybe we should have bought a cheaper crib. ;) My sister’s daughter left similar teeth marks on her crib as well.

    Yay readathon!!! I won’t be pulling an all-nighter, but will play most of the day. Can’t wait to readathon with you!

    Comment by Trish | October 17, 2011 | Reply

  14. Our son did the same thing to his crib. No one had warned us about that and I think this was before we knew anything might be bad with the finish. I just thought I must not be feeding him correctly. “He must need something in his diet if he’s gnawing on the furniture!” He’s gone on to be a healthy 43-year-old. So will that little cutie of yours.

    Comment by Margot | October 18, 2011 | Reply

  15. what a cutie! i love the teeth marks, too. :) my sister bought a crib that would ‘grow’ with her son, turning into a head and footboard later. it’s pretty funny now because he also gnawed on his crib and now the head and footboards have chew marks all over them. i don’t think my sister banked on that when she bought the crib. my poor nephew is going to have a chewed up bed well into his teens! lol. as for going organic, i think it’s a great thing to do when you can. happy birthday to the little guy!

    Comment by natalie @ book, line, and sinker | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  16. So glad you are joining in on the read a thon! Good luck with the reading and thanks for sharing more cute photos!

    Comment by Amused | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  17. Woohoo for the readathon!!! I am so excited for it!!! :) :) :)

    Comment by jehara | October 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

