Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Sundays with Gage – Baby Mozart

A few weeks ago my uncle Larry and aunt Mary Jane gave Jason and I my great-grandmother’s old piano.  My great-grandmother, Sarah, supported herself in her later years by taking in tenants and giving piano lessons, so I am very happy to have this piece of family history.  This was her last piano.

Jason and I do not play any instrument, but both wanted Gage to have lessons on an instrument early and those lessons can’t start early enough!  Jason sat down and taught himself 3 songs over the first week (he’s really awesome/annoying that way) and Gage has finally started to warm up to the idea.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How cute are my guys?  So did you or your kids take music lessons?  What age did they start?

July 17, 2011 - Posted by | Gage

18 Comments »

  1. Your guys are cute! My parents are very pleased that the piano stayed in the family. Enjoy it!

    Comment by Amy | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  2. Well, he does look like a pro. I am talking about Gage, not his dad!!

    Comment by gautami tripathy | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  3. I love the photos! Carl and I never took music lessons, but our son took band from 5th grade to 12th grade. He played the trumpet and the baritone.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  4. What fun pictures! I can see where I too would find such talent annoying as well as awesome! :–)

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  5. I taught piano and guitar lessons for several years (majored in music/piano). All three kids took lessons from another teacher – only one lasted 5 years. The other two absolutely detested it. I didn’t have the heart to make them continue but I was a little disappointed. I think it’s a good idea to offer the opportunity for lessons :)

    Comment by Mary | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  6. Wish I could play piano. I’m hopeless when it comes to music, lol.

    Comment by Melody | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  7. Loving those photos!! :D
    I played the flute and drums in middle/high school. Neither of my boys ever took lessons because at the time they weren’t interested, but now Marc wishes he could play the piano!!

    Comment by Staci | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  8. Love the pictures of the boys with the piano! How wonderful that you have your great grandmother’s piano, it looks beautiful and what a treasure of a family heirloom. My husband and I do not play a musical instrument. Our son has shown an interest in music from a young age and we encouraged him through a kids electronic piano and kindermusik classes…you should check into those, they’re great. He has been taking piano lessons since the third grade, so he was about 9. He still takes them at a local music school and loves it. They teach children as young as 2, I believe:) He also plays the stand up Bass in Orchestra at school since 4th grade, about 10 years old. He loves it as well.

    Comment by redladysreadingroom | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  9. Cute pictures! Gage seems so engrossed :)
    One of my friends plays the piano, and she started very early. Now she is brilliant at it!

    Comment by Misha | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  10. Baby Gage looks waay cuter and more adept than I did at 5 or so. The piano teacher said I was too inflexible – if I remember correctly.

    Your boys make quite and adorable pair; I hope Gage continues his fascination with the piano!

    Comment by Stephanie D. | July 18, 2011 | Reply

  11. Three of my four took piano lessons. They all started in approximately 3rd grade and played for 2-5 years. The oldest was/is fantastic. He can still sit down and play long pieces by memory. Another one never mentions it, but the third wishes she stuck with it. So all three had their own personal experience, and we were happy to provide that opportunity to them. It kept them all busy and occupied with good educational value. :) I miss that time in our life. Somebody was always practicing. Many months and talks (pros and cons) were had before we let them quit (to avoid impulsive decisions), but forcing lessons was not the purpose behind playing.

    Comment by Thoughts of Joy | July 18, 2011 | Reply

  12. What a treasure. And the pictures are adorable.

    We have a piano. i play and Amber started taking lessons when she was like six. She’s not a big fan, but I think it’s important (yes, I know that’s my bias) and I think she’ll be glad in the long run. She gets to take art lessons, I make her take piano- it works out.

    Comment by Carol | July 20, 2011 | Reply

  13. Very cute :) Aarya loves to play on his Dad’s piano :)

    Comment by Veens | July 21, 2011 | Reply

  14. Aww how cute?! I always wanted to take piano lessons but we couldn’t afford a piano growing up. In highschool I took drum lessons, it was quite fun :)

    Comment by jennygirl | July 22, 2011 | Reply

  15. love seeing you guys get the piano and how cute is that picture!!!

    Comment by Rita Harrington | July 22, 2011 | Reply

  16. How absolutely sweet, great pictures. And to have a family piece, priceless. My daughter is 4 and we talked about when also, i’m thinking next year when she goes 5.

    Comment by Marce | July 23, 2011 | Reply

  17. The pictures are wonderful. My son took piano lessons starting at age 5. He only stuck with it for a year or two before he got interested in other things. But he has never lost those fundamentals that he learned and he loves music!

    Comment by Kathleen | July 24, 2011 | Reply

  18. Those are precious moments! So cute!

    Comment by Heather | August 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

