Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

First & Last Quiz – guessing closed

We did this in January with classics, so I thought I’d see how you all do with books that have been popular in the blogoshere and book clubs over the past several years.

See if you can match up the first lines and last lines from 10 famous novels.  At least you can guess!!  Each correct match is worth 9 points and you ‘ll get an extra point if you can tell me what novel each correct match comes from.

No cheating.  No googling or looking at other commenter answers.  Yes, we’re going by the honor system :)    Your first answers will be the only ones accepted.  Play every week or just one time, you are always welcome   It only takes once to be eligible for a prize.

Last week’s Soldier quiz here.  Leaderboard here.

First & Last Lines

1. My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie.

  E. I wish you all a long and happy life.

  The Lovely Bones

2. Today I’m five.

  B. Then we go out the door.

  Room

3. Momma left her red satin shoes in the middle of the road.

  F. As much as I missed her and wished I could hear her laughter one more time, I believed she was out there in the big bright somewhere, watching me, cheering for me. Loving me.

  Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt

4. Clare: It’s hard being left behind.

  I. He is coming, and I am here.

  The Time Traveler’s Wife

5. Before she became the Girl from Nowhere-the One Who Walked In, the First and Last and Only, who lived a thousand years-she was just a little girl in Iowa, named Amy.

  A. Shots outside. I am going to look.

  The Passage

6. Lillian loved best the moment before she turned on the lights.

  C. Then she turned off the light, and left the kitchen.

  The School of Essential Ingredients

7. Louis and I see you nearly at the same time.

  H. “Of course it was. You had it with you the entire time.”

  The Weight of Silence

8. Dear Sidney, Susan Scott is a wonder.

  D. By way of congratulation, she said “I hear you and that pig farmer are going to regularize your connection.  Praise the Lord!”

  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society

9. Here is the truth, this is what I know: we were walking on Ocean Beach, hand in hand.

  J. Water gushes around me, the board shakes, I cannot see, but somehow I know I am moving forward.

  The Year of Fog

10. They found Mary’s body in Round Pond.

  G. Out of our movement, a crow lifted off a high pine and the glint of the sun, for an instant, resembled a flash of diamond in its beak.

  The Eternal on the Water

June 7, 2011 - Posted by | Quizzes |

31 Comments »

  1. Okay, here are my guesses.
    1 and E are from The Lovely Bones.
    2 and B are from Room.
    3 and F are from Saving CeeCee Honeycutt.
    4 and I are from The Time Traveler’s Wife.
    5 and A
    6 and C
    7 and J
    8 and D are from The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
    9 and H
    10 and G

    Comment by BermudaOnion | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • 77 points is great!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. 1. The Lovely Bones e
    2. Room
    4. Time Travelers Wife

    Comment by pinkflipflops | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • 3 points for the new mommy :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  3. Your answers will be hidden until Friday at noon.

    Comment by stacybuckeye | June 7, 2011 | Reply

  4. 1. E – The Lovely Bones by Alice Seibold
    2 .B – Room by Emma Donahue
    3. F – Saving Cee Cee Honeycut by Beth Hoffman
    4. I – The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger:
    5. A- The Passage by Justin Cronin
    6. C- The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Burmeister
    7. H – The Weight of Silence by Heather Gudenkauf
    8. D – The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Shaffer and Barrows
    All the above were great books!!
    9. ? J
    10. ? G

    Guessed on the last two. They sounded like they go together. Also 10 and G are in italics ;o)

    Comment by Nise' | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • 98 points is awesome! It’s embarrassing that I’ve only read 1 of these so far (even though I have copies of them all!)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  5. I know I’ve read 1 & 2, just don’t know what they are!
    1. E
    2. H
    3. B
    4. I – The Time Traveler’s Wife
    5. F
    6. C
    7. A
    8. D
    9. J
    10. G

    Comment by softdrink | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • 55 points! You picked up steam there at the end :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  6. #5, THE PASSAGE! Love that.

    Comment by Marie | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Welcome to the scorecard with a point, Marie! You just gave the winner an extra $1 :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  7. I don’t even know one of them :((

    Comment by Veens | June 7, 2011 | Reply

  8. Crapola. I know that #4 is from The Time Traveler’s Wife – and I would guess that the matching end line is I. I know nothing of the others :0(

    Comment by Bumbles | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Good enough for 10 points!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  9. Okay, these are guesses and I feel so confident about them I’m only doing two :)

    2 & B
    4 & F

    Comment by Stephanie D. | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Well, the first guess was a good one ;) 9 points!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  10. I know four of them and am guessing wildly at the rest! Still fun! :)
    1. E (The Lovely Bones)
    2. B
    3. F (Saving Cee Cee Honeycut)
    4. I (The Time Traveler’s Wife)
    5. A (The Passage)
    6. C
    7. H
    8. D
    9. J
    10. G

    Comment by Wrighty | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • You matched them all correctly for 94 points :) Woo Hoo!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  11. 1 and E – The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
    2 and B – Room by Emma Donoghue
    3 and F – Saving Ceecee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman
    4 and I – The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
    5 and – The Passage by Justin Cronin
    6 and C -The School of Essential Ingredients
    7 and H-
    8 and D – The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
    9 and J The Year of Fog
    10 and G Eternal on the Water

    Comment by Misha | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • 90 points :) I wanted to give you credit for 5, but couldn’t give you the 9 points :( Sorry.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  12. 2 and B…Room by Emma Donoghue

    Comment by gautami tripathy | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Good for 10 points :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  13. Kind of makes my head hurt to even think about matching these up. And, not one of them jumps out at me as a book I’ve read. :-(

    Maybe I’ll come back later.

    Comment by Kay | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • I’ll try to make it easier next week :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  14. 1. E – The Lovely Bones
    2. B – Room
    4. I – The Time Traveler’s Wife
    5. A – The Passage

    Too hard to even guess! lol

    Comment by Carol M | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Good for 40 points!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  15. Wow — you really got me this time – totally guessing

    1 E not sure but it makes sense: The Lovely Bones (One of most beautiful books I have ever read)
    2 B: Room
    3 C ?
    4 I: Time Travelers Wife
    5 A?
    6 F ?
    7 G ?
    8 D: Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Awesome, awesome book)
    9 J ?
    10 H ?

    Comment by Jennifer Rayment | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • I’ve gotta keep on my toes to challenge you! 58 points :)
      LOVED The Lovely Bones. Watching the movie now…well, tonight anyway.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  16. I hope i got them right :)

    1 – E = The Lovely Bones
    2 – B = Room
    3 – F = Saving CeeCee Honeycutt
    4 – I = The Time Traveler’s Wife
    5 – A = The Passage
    6 – C = The School of Essential Ingredients
    7 – H = The Weight of Silence
    8 – D = The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
    9 – J = The Year of Fog
    10 – G = Eternal on The Water

    Comment by Mariska | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Somehow, amazingly, you got a perfect score! I am very impressed! Don’t worry I’ll find a way to stump you next week, LOL!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | June 11, 2011 | Reply

  17. Hi Stacy. Thanks so much for including The Year of Fog on this list! I’m honored.

    Comment by bookclubgirlMichelle | June 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

