Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Black Out, by Lisa Unger

Black Out by Lisa Unger: Book CoverFinished audio 5-5-11, rating 3/5, fiction, pub. 2009

Unabridged audio 13 hours 24 minutes. Read by Ann Marie Lee

Annie Powers is crazy.  I don’t think I’m spoiling too much by telling you that since the title of the book comes from her spells of losing her memory.  Annie also used to be Ophelia March, daughter of one present parent,  her mother who is in love with a death row convict.  When the convict is released and he and his son are living with Ophelia her once crappy life takes a turn for the worse.  She becomes involved with her new stepbrother, Marlo.  But currently, Annie is a rich wife and mother who has everything she never dreamed possible when she was growing up.

So, does jumping around from past to present annoy you?  If it doesn’t then this book should hold your interest.  Do you like reading books that have no true sympathetic character?  This is the book for you.  As much as I wanted to like Annie/Ophelia the way the story was told made it impossible.  After reading the end of a book do you like knowing what happened?  What was real and what wasn’t?  If so, be prepared to be disappointed.  There were plenty of questions at the end, enough to make me rethink some of my basic assumptions, and I’m not sure if even a reread would answer them.  At the very least there are so many different stories all tied together so precariously that it feels exciting at first but then becomes a little hard to take seriously.

I liked the audio, but maybe I needed to have more focus (ie not when I’m driving around with Gage) when listening to it.  Maybe being able to read at a slower pace would have helped.  Or maybe I would still be just as confused and ambivalent about Annie/Ophelia.  She was not a warm and fuzzy character.  I liked the story through most of the book, but it had no real wrap up and I need a story that at least lets me think I’ve known what has happened.  The end had the potential to save the story but instead I was really disappointed.

I checked the audio out of the library.

May 5, 2011 - Posted by | 3 Star Books |

20 Comments »

  1. I’ve read all of this author’s books, and hope her new one (coming soon) is a good one as well.

    Comment by (Diane)BibliophileBytheSea | May 6, 2011 | Reply

    • I really liked her first two. Maybe that’s why this one was a disappointment. She used many of the same devices but they just didn’t work for me this time.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. I read one Lisa Unger book and really enjoyed it, so I’d give this one a try. As far as audio books go, I find I enjoy them more when I listen on trips in big chunks of time.

    Comment by BermudaOnion | May 6, 2011 | Reply

    • I liked her first, Beautiful Lies, best. I do usually try to listen to shorter books in the car.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. I am not sure I would like this book – an unsympathetic main character and an uncertain ending are not my thing.

    Comment by Misha | May 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Then this one probably isn’t for you :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. I am new to Lisa Unger. I can think of a couple of books that the main character was unsympathetic and I did not enjoy the book.

    Comment by Nise' | May 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Loved her first two so I’m hoping this is just a fluke for me.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 11, 2011 | Reply

  5. I’m sorry this didn’t work for you. Better luck next time!

    Comment by Marie | May 7, 2011 | Reply

  6. I’m pretty sure I read this and I do remember it jumping around and being a bit on the busy side.

    Comment by Jenners | May 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Not always bad, but notthe best for an audio.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 11, 2011 | Reply

  7. Wow, sounds like there is NOT ONE SINGLE PART of this book that wouldn´t annoy me! LOL

    Comment by rhapsodyinbooks | May 8, 2011 | Reply

    • LOL!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 11, 2011 | Reply

  8. I’m the same way, I only like audiobooks that need very little focus! They are on and I fade in and out so it’s got to be kind of an easier storyline so to speak :)

    Comment by Amused | May 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, I don’t know what I was thinking!

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 11, 2011 | Reply

  9. I’ve read one book by this author and enjoyed it enough to try another. I think I would certainly get distracted by listening to this one on audio.

    Comment by Staci | May 8, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m pretty sure the audio had a s much to do with my disappointment as the story itself.

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 11, 2011 | Reply

  10. It’s tough to like a book with an unappealing main character and a plot that doesn’t really get resolved by the end. I hope the next book you red by Lisa Unger is more like the others you’ve enjoyed by her and this is just a blip for an otherwise successful author!
    Thank you for your sincere review. I appreciate it :o)

    Comment by Amy | May 9, 2011 | Reply

    • I always try to be sincere, Amy :)

      Comment by stacybuckeye | May 11, 2011 | Reply

  11. [...] Florida  Black Out by Lisa Unger [...]

    Pingback by Challenging Year « Stacy's Books | December 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

