Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

9 in ’09 with Carly Phillips & Book Giveaway

This week, New York Times bestselling author, Carly Phillips has stopped by to answer a few questions and give away one of her books to a lucky reader.  She is the author of many romances and you can visit her website here to find a list.  She also has a blog with three other romance authors called Plotmonkeys that is fun and runs weekly giveaweays, you can visit it here

Read her interview and then enter the giveaway by leaving a comment.

1. I first saw one of your books on Regis & Kelly and love your Cinderella Story about the whirlwind experience (read about it here), but you wrote ten manuscripts before being published.  Can you tell us a little about your writing life during that time?  I really admire your perseverance!

Thank you! During the time I was trying to sell, my daughter was a baby and also during that time I became pregnant with my second child. My writing was in between my daughter’s schedule, but I was pretty determined and motivated to sell. I lived to check the post office each day … for rejections usually, but as long as the rejection letterasked for something else or mentioned something positive in the story, I held onto hope and kept writing a new book and moving forward. RWA was also a huge part of my life at this point too, going to monthly chapter meetings. I think everyone has to find their own “normal” and schedule, especially when trying to sell and fighting the perception of others that this is a hobby and not a real job. If you want to sell, you have to incorporate the writing into your life as if it IS real. Force everyone around you to respect it as much as you do!

2. You are a lawyer turned roamce writer.  Are there similarities between these two professions or are they polar opposites?

In my opinion and experience lawyer and romance writer are polar opposites. I think the only similarity is that the dedication you need to go to law school, tough it out, study for and pass the bar is like trying to sell a book. You must keep at it and keep going. But the similarities end there. I make my own hours, I answer to myself (mostly) and I love what I do. For me, that’s it in a nutshell. The ability to be creative versus put together a brief based on fact … very different. I never loved law. I love writing Romance!

3. I love a great romance and feel they often get a bad rap.  What are some of your favorite reactions when people find out you write those books?

Well the shock value is always fun because I believe I am thought of as a very “good girl” and I think the perception is naughty girls write about sex. Of course it’s not just about sex it’s about LOVE and relationships and the people who are shocked by it are the ones who don’t get what Romance is.

4. What’s the best advantage of working from home?  For me it might be wearing pajamas to work.

Wearing pajamas to work is a good one. Working from bed is another. Being able to watch television while I write, playing on the Internet, making my own hours … you name it! I’m very very lucky to do what I do!

5. Do you use a Kindle or other electronic reader?

When the first Kindle came out I tried it and hated it. I thought it was because I missed the feel of a book in my hands and couldn’t see what actual page number I was on. When Kindle 2 came out, I didn’t bite. But I had foot surgery a few weeks ago and bought the Kindle and all I can say is I am in LOVE. I don’t like the fact that I don’t go into bookstores, and that concerns me about e-readers, but I have to say I enjoy having whatever I want in my hand when I want it. Kindle’s Whispernet that auto-connects to Amazon is amazing.

6. I love quotes.  Do you have a favorite?

I have a very short term memory on these things. Not really :(

7. What are you currently reading?

Roxanne St Claire’s Hunt Me Down. Hooked me from the get go!

8. If you were trapped in the life of one fictional character who would you choose?

Wow. Good question! Maybe a heroine in a good romantic sports hero book!

9. And finally, what are you working on now?

Next year I have two new releases out – the start of a new series. Right now I don’t have titles so I haven’t promoted them yet – but the premise will be the idea of the most eligible bachelorspotlighted by a Blog in a major NYC newspaper. The heroes are your every day guy who gets caught in a heroic situation and gets into the Bachelor Blog. Then the women turn out for him … it’s fun and the first story is one of the favorites of my books so far! More at www.carlyphillips.com when I have titles! I promise. :)  And of course LUCKY BREAK is in stores September 29, 2009 so I’m working on promotion for that book!

Thanks so much for stopping by Carly! 

Carly has graciously agreed to send one lucky commenter either Lucky Charm or Lucky Streak.

Cover Image or Cover Image

To enter, just leave a comment! 

To earn one extra entry you can post about it on your blog and/or Twitter.

How easy is that?  I’ll draw a winner on Sept 25th.

 

September 11, 2009 - Posted by | Author Interviews, FREE | , , ,

58 Comments »

  1. Hi Carly!
    I love your books! They’re all amazing, and the series you’re working on sounds yummy lol…can’t wait for them to be released :)

    Comment by Sheena | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Carly is one of my verrry fav authors!!! I have loved all of her books!! Have not started the Lucky series so this would be a good start. I try to wait if the series follows fairly close and read them together. Sue

    Comment by Sue Hussein | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Great interview! I always love reading about authors. New series sounds so good.

    Can’t wait to read Lucky Break.

    Comment by Calila | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. I only found out about Carly because of all the authors I follow on Twitter and so I’m now following Carly as well. I’m currently trying to figure out which of Carly’s books I should download from Amazon… ;-) I loved Carly’s interview and especially the fact that she’s writing around her little ones’ schedules. Makes me think I can find something to work on from home while taking care of a little one as well. :-) Thanks for the great interview and contest!

    Comment by Sharon M | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. [...] know what to do. ***** Carly here – I have an Interview at Stacy’s Books and there’s a giveaway too! Stop [...]

    Pingback by Jungle Madness Friday! | Plot Monkeys | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thank you, Stacy and Carly, for a wonderful interview! Carly, I can never remember a good quote when I want one, either! I finally memorized one–
    “She who laughs, lasts,” which I’ve heard attributed to Lucille Ball. Anyway, thank you for writing your wonderful books! I’m excited to hear about your upcoming series!

    Comment by Fedora | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  7. Carly, you are one of my fav authors keep ‘em coming

    Donna

    Comment by Donna | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  8. Great interview! My husband’s tried my Kindle and he didn’t enjoy the e-reading experience much.

    Comment by bermudaonion | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  9. I like being able to “go” to work in my pyjamas too!

    I’m looking forward to being in touch about the BBAW interview swap, Stacy :-)

    Comment by Marjorie | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  10. Hi Stacy, this was a great interview with Carly. I love the Lucky series, and I can’t wait to get Lucky Break in my hands. Carly, I can’t wait to see what your next series is going to be. You don’t have to count me in for the contest. Just wanted to drop in and show Carly some love.

    Peace and love,
    Paula R.

    Comment by Paula R. | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  11. I would love to be entered in your draw. Thanks!
    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

    Comment by Wanda | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  12. Great interview! I’ve never read any of your books, but they sound great and I’m deffinitely going to pick one up!

    Comment by Chelsea B. | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  13. Carly, I love your books! I would love to enter your contest and thanks for the chance to win one of your great books. Keep’m coming!:-)
    Talina Perkins

    Comment by Talina Perkins | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  14. Well you learn something new everyday. Carly I ‘ve been reading your books for a while and following you on the internet and just now found out your a lawyer. I’m glad you like writing better.

    Comment by Theresa N | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  15. Stacy,
    Wonderful interview of Carly! Please enter my name in your contest. Have a great weekend!

    Comment by Elisa A | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  16. I would love to be in your contest.

    God Bless America.

    Comment by Pat L. | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  17. Awesome interview!! Love those book giveaways!!! Enjoy those nice specimens on your book covers too!!!!

    Comment by Lisa | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  18. That was a cool interview- I love reading Carly’s books and it was interesting to hear how she got into writing. Thanks for the great giveaway :)!

    Comment by Amy G. | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  19. I’m not into ebooks at all. I’ve got to have it in my hands. Plus, I need to go to a book store so I can find new authors! Don’t know what I’ll do if they all go e-style in a few years

    I do enjoy Carly’s books! I’d love to win “Lucky Streak”!

    Comment by Laurie G | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  20. I love Carly’s books and would love to win either book.

    Comment by Linda Henderson | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  21. i love carly phillips’s books!

    Comment by meaghan | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  22. I have read a different book of Carly’s, neither of those, would love to win either. Thanks so much for including me in the draw!

    I do wish I had a kindle, but because I need a laptop with me whenever I travel, I’m going to get a netbook and try to do both with one machine. I hope it works out.

    Comment by Brenda Rupp | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  23. :) Great interview. Such a fan of Carly and I completely didn’t know she was a lawyer before a writer. CONGRATULATIONS!! Glad she changed but I’m sure she was a kick butt attorney too!

    Comment by RachieG | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  24. I want a Kindle!! But I know that I would get into serious trouble with spending so much $$$$ on books!!! I love her #4…I’m afraid if I worked from home I would probably not get much accomplished!! :)

    Comment by Staci | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  25. COMPLETELY AGREE ON THE PJ’S IN BED. I think if I were to work from home, that would absolutely be the best thing about it.

    Love Carly Phillips…I’ve been a fan from the beginning.

    Comment by Lyoness2009 | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  26. I would love to play please! Thanks.

    lesly7ch(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by Llehn | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  27. A wonderful interview. Thanks so much. What’s Carly reading Rocki St. Claire’s book……well it’s incredible.

    Carly, your new series sounds incredible but all of your books are spectacular!

    Comment by Marilyn Shoemaker | September 12, 2009 | Reply

  28. [...] enter you must leave a comment on her 9 in ‘09 Interview post.  I’ll be drawing for a winner on September [...]

    Pingback by TWO Book Giveaways « Stacy's Books | September 13, 2009 | Reply

  29. Great interview!! Please enter me..

    lovestoread0708(at)yahoo.com

    Comment by Trisha | September 13, 2009 | Reply

  30. wow, a lawyer and a romance writer? Thats some jump, but I’m glad she did it. I really enjoyed the interview.

    Please enter me if international.

    Comment by Violet | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  31. Blogged:

    http://trishasbookshelf.blogspot.com/2009/09/giveaways-of-day-914.html

    lovestoread0708(at)yahoo.com

    Comment by Trisha | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  32. I have enjoyed many of Carly Phillips’ books but this is the first time I’ve known anything about her personally. Thanks for the interview that let me do that.

    Comment by Margot @ Joyfully Retired | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  33. Carly is a new author to me. The books look really good.

    Comment by Elaine G | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  34. After reading the interview with Carly, I am rethinking a Kindle.

    Comment by Paula | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  35. Hi, Stacy! Thanks for having me. And thanks to everyone who stopped by. Wow great turnout! Those who mentioned the Kindle … it’s just addicting. I read two books on Sunday. TWO long books!

    My website is loaded with info about me especially on The Scoop page ;)

    Comment by carly phillips | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  36. I have to thank Soap Operas for showing me the way to Carly! I read that she liked my couple from GH and so I decided to see what she’s about.. Let me tell ya!! I am oh so glad!! The pace, the dialoge, the characters and the all around fun!! I have gone thru three of Carly’s books (Lucky Charm, Simply Sensual and Sealed with a Kiss) So far SWaK has been my fave (and has quickly joined my list of fave books to re-read) but I cant wait to find out what else she has instored for me!!

    As a reader and now as a fan, I thank you!!!!

    Comment by Nikki | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  37. A great interview with Carly. I am really into the Lucky series and the series due out next year sounds like another winner also! My favorite Carly book is Hot Number.

    Comment by Angela T. | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  38. Thanks for the interesting interview, and for the chance to win! :)

    Comment by Julie | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  39. Enter me in win either book looks good

    Comment by Caitlin Usignol | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  40. Long-timer reader, first-time poster. You make a good point about the Kindle and how you don’t visit bookstores as much. I have an iPod touch and the impulse to download more books is almost uncontrollable. It will be interesting to see how e-readers change the industry. I feel like the romance market is prime for e-books and we’ve seen Harlequin lead the charge with their ebooks. Bottom line, keep writing great books and readers will obtain them, at the bookstore, library, online, etc.!

    Comment by Ryann Uden | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  41. [...] And don’t forget to sign up for my Carly Phillips giveaway. [...]

    Pingback by And the Winner of Killer Mousse by Melinda Wells is… « Stacy's Books | September 15, 2009 | Reply

  42. great interview and the books look wonderful thanks

    Comment by mindy | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  43. Great interview.
    Please enter my name in the draw.

    Comment by Deedles | September 17, 2009 | Reply

  44. I love her books and writing style.. While I can not say I have read every one of her books; I have enjoyed quite a few of them..

    Comment by brooke | September 17, 2009 | Reply

  45. Loved learning more about Carly – can’t wait to read these – please count me in

    Comment by scottsgal | September 17, 2009 | Reply

  46. I love Carly Phillips. I’ve read each book she’s wrote except for the Lucky series! Count me in! Thanks for the chance to win one of her books!

    Comment by Megan | September 18, 2009 | Reply

  47. [...] Charm or Lucky Streak by Carly Phillips, at Stacy’s Books (ends September [...]

    Pingback by Giveaways in Blogland « Carol’s Notebook | September 19, 2009 | Reply

  48. I would like to be entered!

    Comment by etirv | September 19, 2009 | Reply

  49. Love Carly Phillips! Looking forward to a new series

    Comment by Teri | September 19, 2009 | Reply

  50. I’d love to read either one of these.

    Thanks for the giveaway >^..^<

    Comment by Alicia | September 20, 2009 | Reply

  51. Great interview, ladies! I’ll be watching for the new book – great idea : )
    I’d love to win Lucky Streak.

    Blogged in my giveaways (sidebar)
    http://bookfan-mary.blogspot.com

    meah56 at gmail dot com

    Comment by Mary | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  52. a great interview/review…please count me in.

    karen k
    kmkuka(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Comment by karen k | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  53. I enjoyed the interview and Carly’s books are wonderful fun.

    Comment by Maureen | September 21, 2009 | Reply

  54. I’d love to be entered! Thank you.

    Comment by Alexa | September 22, 2009 | Reply

  55. Thanks for the great interview. Count me in, please. Thanks!

    Comment by pixie13 | September 23, 2009 | Reply

  56. [...] Carly Phillips  [...]

    Pingback by 2009 Author Interviews « Stacy's Books | December 27, 2009 | Reply

  57. […] Stacy’s Books – 9 in ’09 with Carly Phillips […]

    Pingback by Interviews | Carly Phillips | New York Times Bestselling Author | November 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

