Stacy's Books

books, movies, and boy

Teaser Tuesday, Shantaram

teasertuesdays3TEASER TUESDAYS asks you to:

  • Grab your current read.
    Let the book fall open to a random page.
    Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
    You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

    Please avoid spoilers!

Didier once told me, in a rambling, midnight dissertation, that a dream is the place where a wish and a fear meet.  When the wish and the fear are exactly the same, he said, we call the dream a nightmare.

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts, Chapter 7

Cover ImageSo, what are you reading?

Hosted my MizB.

March 17, 2009 - Posted by | teaser tuesday | , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I read this several years ago and just LOVED it! I felt like I was in India, the writing was so evocative. :)

    Yes. My husband says it is his favoriite book. The more I read the more I love it.

    Comment by Eva | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. This will definitely be going on the tbr list! Thanks for sharing. I’ll be back on Friday for the contest.

    My teaser is here under the Galway Bay tour post.

    Comment by Kaye | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oooh, that’s an interesting way to look at nightmares! Thanks for sharing it.

    My teasers are here.

    Comment by Lisa | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. OOOh! That one has got my attention!

    Comment by Beth F | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. I love this teaser!

    Comment by bookfan | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. Very compelling. Gives me something to think about.

    Comment by Scobberlotcher | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  7. How is this book so far? Sounds great!

    So far I am loving it!

    Comment by jennygirl | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  8. Great teaser…makes me want to pull out this book and read it again. Mine is here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/03/teaser-tuesday-march-17.html

    Comment by Jo-Jo | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  9. Well, I’m not sure I agree with that thought, but it’s certainly intriguing. Great teasers!

    Comment by JLS Hall | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  10. Sounds good – nice definition of a nightmare

    Comment by sally906 | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  11. What an excellent teaser – almost like it should be in quote books.

    Comment by Margot | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  12. Your teaser made me think! LOL! Now I’m really wondering if it’s true about dreams being where our wish and fears meet, and about the nightmares…

    Comment by Betty | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  13. Very thought provoking teaser.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Comment by Caspette | March 18, 2009 | Reply

  14. I’ll have to ensure that my wish and fear do not become the same thing. I like your teaser!

    Comment by Alice Teh | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  15. Hmmm, I’ll have to give this more thought the next time someone in our family has a nightmare … good teaser!

    Comment by Dawn | March 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers

